Biking around the city


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
August 13th 2005
Published: August 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

viking shipviking shipviking ship

Here is a rebuilt viking ship. This was on a great island filled with historic builds representing the areas and time periods of Finnland
I read that seeing Helsinki by bicycle is a good idea and I would have to agree. Friday I rented a bike and rode one of the many bicycle routes around the city. The whole town is really set up for bikes with their own lanes and traffic signals and all. I can't get over how much it reminds me of where I grew up in northern Wisconsin. I guess that is why there are so many Finns living there.

Last night I checked out the night life with one of the locals. They say it is more active in the winter and right now it is a little thin because many people are on holiday. The arctic bar was not worth it. I was much smaller than I thought. It was the size of a walk in freezer and only the bar tender in there and no music since they had a DJ that night. I was in and out in 5 minutes. My local guide and I had a great time dancing at the next place. It had 3 stories. The first has only food and drinks, the second is playing stuff like Madona, C and C music
old interiorold interiorold interior

This is inside one of the buildings on the island. I guess the bed pulls out.
factory, and Cindy Lauper. The upstairs cracked me up with people really going nuts over old Kiss, Great White, Bon Jovi, and stuff like that. I can't get over how big old rock is here. I don't anybody listening to the stuff that is popular back home.

It is strange to be in a new country and not understand the people, customs, or language, but as soon as you hear some music you can sing every word... strange.

Overall Helsinki has been a great place for rest since it is clean, quiet, everyone knows english well, and it is probably as safe of a place as you are likely to find.

The people here are text message crazy. They can do it superfast and have like 3 Nokias on hand at all times.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

WhoaWhoa
Whoa

This little guy seemed cute at first. Then I started walking away and he followed on the bench along side me. Then he jumps onto me!! He did it like three more times and kind of chased me around. It weirded me out.
Happy birthday to meHappy birthday to me
Happy birthday to me

Very good cake with my excellent hosts.


Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb