Day 10 - Verona to Siena (and an emotional time... in a good way)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
October 19th 2013
Published: November 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I am 60 in NZ (50 in my head) but here in Verona, Italy, I am 59 (49 in my head). We packed and went down for breakfast prior to heading to the train station. Was that REALLY chocolate gateau in with the cold cuts of meats and eggs? It's been great Verona, but time to head to Siena for my Coming of Age? birthday celebrations. Took a taxi to the station for our train to Bologna (an amazing station there, five stories underground!!) speedy fast train to Florence (Firenze) - no views, just tunnels and snippets of views. Was looking forward to the free wifi on the train to upload a few stories but alas...not working. At the Florence stop, I was completely blown away when my son Greg and his partner Irene walked on to the train. It was very emotional. And just when I thought it could not get any better, in walked my pseudo daughter Rebecca - and her Mum, my friend Lorraine, from Whangarei. This is me, quietly slipping away for my big birthday - yeah, right 😊) Nath had coordinated it and everyone had known for some time, except me (and Roy cos they were afraid he might let the cat out of the bag). Can you imagine my joy on this day?

We loaded up with groceries and red wine at the supermarket opposite the station in a Sienna and headed to our rustic converted farmhouse in the Siena hillside. It was fabulous. What goes on tour stays on tour so I will not share the exact number of bottles of red wine we consumed, suffice to say it was plenty! As it was my birthday NZ time, I opened all the cards that came with us, and shared the FB messages. Lorraine and her family gave me a beautiful necklace which held a globe of the World. Stunning and so special! What lovely family and friends I have.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb