Survival!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 30th 2005
Published: May 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cinque Terre ViewCinque Terre ViewCinque Terre View

This is the view from our hotel balcony in Manarola -- not bad, eh?!
Hello all!
Yes, I survived my first-ever completely "winged" journey -- it was a blast! Ten of us headed off to Cinque Terre on Friday. We arrived at our hotel in Manarola around 11 PM and managed to sneak ten people into a quadruple room (don't tell! We were desperate and it was late!). The first item on the agenda Saturday was finding lodging for that night. We lucked out - us girls got to stay at the Nazi hostel (long story!) and the guys found an apartment down the street. Then we were off to enoy the beach of Monterosso al Mare and to make the trek from Monterosso to Vernazza. In other words, we hiked what I have termed the "Hike of Death". 90 minutes of pure torture (aka: steps, steps, hills, and steps. Did I mention there were steps?). The views made it all worthwhile though! Cinque Terre stands for "five lands" -- it is five small towns grouped together with trails connecting them. It is the Italian side of the French Riveria. Beautiful, beautiful! On Saturday night we enjoyed some authentic Italian food. I sampled the grilled shrimp (we were by the sea, afterall!) and the pesto
Looking down on VernazzaLooking down on VernazzaLooking down on Vernazza

This is the view of Vernazza as we approached it on the Hike of Death (at this point, I knew I would survive!).
since it was invented in Cinque Terre. Fabulouso!

On Sunday, Julie (one of my roommates) and I headed to Milan. We found a great hotel, did a little shopping, and visited the Castle. Today we visited the Duomo (the fourth largest church in Europe) before heading back to Asolo this evening. We also became experts at the Milano subway in just 24 hours. I think it was actually the best subway I've ever used - extremely organized. I highly recommend it if you ever visit Milano!

Back to reality now. I need to do some schoolwork and gear up for a big week. Midterms on Friday - yikes! At this time, I'm planning to head to Venice this coming weekend. Until then, ciao!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Duomo PiazzoDuomo Piazzo
Duomo Piazzo

This the piazzo right in front of the Duomo in Milan. Notice the pigeons - I was nearly hit by one several times. They are everywhere!
Inside the Castle GateInside the Castle Gate
Inside the Castle Gate

The Castle in Milan -- it was very hot outside! I felt extremely American in my shorts and tank top, but I didn't care!! So hot!


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb