Ciao Bella & Bello


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What a gorgeous city,

I was kinda dreading Italy cause I thought it was gonna be expensive, hot & crowded. Well it is all 3 things but soooooo worth it!!!

We bid a sad farewell to Croatia this morning & headed for Italy. I fell in Love with Croatia (which I knew I would) and I was very sad to say goodbye. I almost asked our tour leader, Kobes, if I could stay & they could come back to pick me up for France. I am so pleased I didn't. We got to our 4 star hotel at about 7pm last night, had dinner & I hit the hay pretty early cause, I forgot to tell you all, I fell over in Croatia. We went swimming, when we hired our scooters, at a local beach (if that's what you could call it). There were steps into the water & someone asked Ross (tour team mate) if the steps were slippery. "No" he replies. Kelly walks down.....BAMB!!!!!! Right on her arse she falls. Got an instant blood blister on my thumb from trying to save myself & thought that was my only injury. After riding on the scooter for a further 4 hours I thought my bum was just sore from that much time on the bike. The next morning I woke & could hardly walk. I have the sorest butt you can imagine. I felt as thought I needed a whoopy cushion. Everyone felt sorry for me so they gave me the back seat of the bus to spread out over 5 seats so I didn't have to sit & I could lie instead. I have the best tour mates. I rested it for most of the day & felt much better by that night.

This morning we headed across the water onto Venice Island & I must admit that I got very excited when we were handed the map. We had an 1 1/2 walking tour, a lace making demonstration, a Gondala ride & a glass blowing demonstration then free time to explore the city.

Lace was interesting but a little on the old people's home side. The gondola ride was magical even though we had a grumpy Gondalier & the glass blowing was amazing. Then we wandered around checking out the Square, the catheral, the bridge of Sighs & more. Had yummy Italian pizza for lunch, a few beers & pasta for dinner. Aunty Judy you will be pleased to know I had a 1/2 bottle of Red wine with dinner & thought of you but I will still do that in Rome while writing your postcard.

All in all a beautiful day in Venice. Fairly early night tonight cause we are at breakfast at 7am tomorrow to leave for Rome.

I am definately learning Italian when I get home. I have tried to use as many words in Italian here as I know (which is pretty limited to thanks, hello /goodbye, very good & you're welcome). I am really enjoying my time in this magnificent country.

I went a little crazy today buying souvenires but that's ok. I checked my account balance when I got back with only one eye on the computer screen just incase!!! All is good.

That's all my news for now. I am going to go & pack now so I can stay sleeping in the morning to the very last minute. Breakfasts are not the best here so the Vegemite has come in very handy, thanks Marguerite & Chris.

Ciao for Now
Love Kel
XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Advertisement



2nd October 2006

Comastay kel
That is about the only thing i know in Italian apart from counting to 10!!! We are all well have just got back from 2 week holiday to Mallacoota (far east Gippsland) weather was beautiful. We all missed you at Olivia's party tried to save you some cake but Brian and Paul ate it all!!! Olivia is walking great guns now and is little miss independant takes after me in the talking department she doesn't shut up unless there is food in her mouth!!, you will see a big difference in her as she has grown up heaps. I can't believe how fast your adventure has gone we have missed you and are looking forward to seeing you soon although i bet you wish there was more time to explore this amazing world of ours!.Brad is flat out at work, we fly to Hong Kong in 5 weeks very exciting!! shopping and more shopping!!! Well take care stay safe love kirst, brad and Olivia

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb