ROMA & THE HOME OF IL PAPA


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
October 4th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Yes, yes I am still alive & I am in Scotland. I have been very slack with the computer but I am hoping to make up for it now.

I last left you after Venice so now the story continues........

We had a long & boring trip from Venice to Roma. It wasn't the longest in hours but we all kinda got bus - fever & went a little silly. We started throwing things at each other & lauging over the most stupid things. Daz, our bus driver made a couple of extra stops for us that day, he said to keep us from going completely bonkers but me thinks it was more to protect his coach.

The others were joining us in Rome so that too might have had something to do with all our moods.

We got lost getting to our hotel as it was one Top Deck had not used before & the sign had fallen off the side of the building. This made us wonder what kind of suburb we were in & horror flash backs of Prague invaded our minds. It was all good once we got inside. We were running late so no time to change before our walking tour of Rome. The sky was overcast, the wind was blowing but we soldiered on. 1st stop was the Spanish steps, I got so excited to finally be there I almost knocked Kobes into the nearby fountain. After picking her up I just stood & stared. There were so many tourists I felt like shouting "Get off the stairs, I want to take a photo". Bloody tourists, always getting in the way of my camera. I know, I know, I'm a hippocrate!! But I'm a good tourist, I never get in anyones ways....😉

Next was Trevi Fountain. A few darker clouds had followed us but that was ok, I was still there & still staring. Hayley & I grabbed each others hands, ran down to the fountain, counted to 3 & tossed our coins in & make our wishes. We timed turning around perfectly as we watched our coins sink to the bottom while we were both giggling like little school girls. Next step was some kinds statues, I can't quite remember which one cause I wa too busy buying an umbrella off a guy on the corner cause a few drops had started to fall. Next was The Patheon & the worlds BEST Gelato. I said watching all the people scurrying past me trying to get out of the rain just savering each mouthful of my Gelato under my umbrella. We walked on a little further & then the heavens really opened. It POURED!!!! As we were passing things Kobes was yelling out over the thunder that's the "whatever" & there's the "thingy". We tipped our umbrellas ever so slightly to try & get a glimpse but it was useless. We made a group decisson to end the walking tour & come back the next day to see it.

Went back to drink in the bar of the hotel & we tried to get to know the new people who had joined our tour. The next morning we headed off for Vactican City. This time with the sun high in the sky, thank goodness. The queue was horrendous!!! We lined up just to get in for 2 hours. But I must say the time flew cause we were all laughing & chatting. It was sooooo worth it. The 2nd best highlight for me on this tour so far.

We went to the Sistine Chapel & saw all the magnificent artwork. That took us 2 hours, then we went for a gorgeous italian lunch & I wrote Aunty Judy her postcard while enjoying a lovely glass of red wine. They have the best red wine in that country. After lunch we headed to St Peters Square & the Basilica. Pardon the pun but.......OH MY GOD!!!!!!! It was so amazing to be there, it's too hard to describe. I took a great photo of this little preist (probably on his morning tea break) but he was very gracious. Then I headed into the Tombs of the Popes. That was fabulous, saw John Paul II's, lots of flowers & candles around it ( and security guards), went into the Basilica & into the prayer room which was AWESOME to be praying there, too hard to describe. After there went to the Collesum(??) That place is amazing & HUGE!! Spent about 2 hours walking around there. Then back to the hotel for a well earned rest.

Stay tuned for Florence, Switerland & Paris......
Ciao for now
Love Kel
xxxx

P.S, thanks for messages, Kirst I am dying to see how much Olivia's grown & Charlotte, Chris what a funny story....you too should be a writer. Thanks for news from home JBo, can't wait to catch up with everyone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb