Life Lesson #101


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
March 17th 2013
Published: March 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I can't tell you how many times I have second guessed my decision to come to Italy.. all the money I spent to get here, all the countless hours sitting in disorganized offices shuffling through mounds of endless paperwork to make it a reality.. today I finally realized why it was all worth it. I had to fly half way around the world to discover that all I could ever need and want was right there in front of me at home. Not just in the way that Canada is an amazing place to live, but I mean the truest sense of it: I had it all. I am the luckiest girl in the world. I just couldn't see that because I was too blinded by all the crap life had thrown in my face.

You can travel the world a hundred times, visit countless elaborate cathedrals in Italy, walk across the rugged landscape of Spain, sip cocktails on a sun-kissed beach in Thailand. But what is all of this if you don't have somebody there to share it with? What are these experiences really if you do not have someone there to share them all with you. It's not what you see, it's WHO you see it with. When I think back on my short time on this Earth, what sticks out to me? I haven't seen it all yet, but I think I have done my fair share of travel. The thing is.. those places were gorgeous, stunning, breathtaking. But what I really remember is the people I was able to share those moments with. Such as Mexico for example. A place I have been to many times with my family.. my very fondest reccollections were not of the white, sandy beaches, or the turquoise water.. I can google images of those things in about 1.2 seconds with today's technology. My very best memories are of the time my sister and I danced foolishly to 90s pop tunes on a bar. The time my mom and I went to the ruins of Chichen-Itza and almost got left behind by our tour bus, stranded in the middle of no where. My favorite though, the week I spent there with my dearest friend Sarah and her family before she left this world for a better place. The night we all went out for dinner, and in the taxi on the way home we all loudly sang "Don't Stop Believing" (quite poorly), fueled by margaritas while our cab driver laughed away at the silly "gringos" he was transporting.

That is what truly matters in this life time. The reality is our time on this Earth is not as long as we would all wish for it to be. For some we are blessed to live long lives, for others sometimes things are cut short far too suddenly. But when we are all reach that place where our time has come, and we look back to reflect on what we have done, I believe that the people we have loved in our lifetime will be the only thing that truly matters. I truly can say now that this trip was in no way a mistake. I would not change what I have done for anything. Because through this trial and error process, I was able to embrace this "simple" realization. I could go anywhere and do anything, but I would rather laugh and love my way through this life with someone beside me to share it.

We all get side-tracked now and then. The little things DO overwhelm us. And the big things, well sometimes they are damn near impossible to overcome. But those who stick with us through the bitter moments, they are the ones that matter most. I'd like to think I am the type of person who attracts people to me in a moment of happiness. But I know that on my darker days, my bad days.. I can repel the world faster than the blink of an eye. When you are unhappy or dissatisfied with yourself and your own matters, there is no room to even ponder the idea that somewhere out there, someone else could still possibly love you. Turns out I was very wrong about this indeed. My family, my friends, my loved ones.. they have always been there. And it seems they are willing to stick it out with me through to the end. The world isn't going anywhere. In fact I can hop on a plane this afternoon and be anywhere in the blink of an eye (money allowing of course). But what is not always there, will be our closest companions. This may come across as morbid, but I mean for it to be enlightening instead. Love the ones you're with. Love them like you will never let them go. Because if you do, there is a chance you may never get them back again.

I cannot tell you how many people have told me I am on the trip of a lifetime. Yes, in a way I am.. because it was taught me what I want for the rest of my own time in this life. But to be perfectly honest, to see these things and be here alone is not at all what I really wish to have. Calgary may not be the most "beautiful" city in the whole world, it may be frickin COLD in winter time. But you know, the constant rain in Venice in March isn't really so desirable either. The cuisine here in Italy may be some of the finest I have ever had the oppurtunity to taste. But (I hope no Italian will shoot me for saying this).. the best pizza napoletana I have ever had was actually in Calgary, at 'Famoso'. And fortunately for a international food lover like myself, I also have the ability there to eat hand-rolled sushi on a Monday, head for some fiery Thai pho soup on a Tuesday. Wednesday I could treat myself to a Greek salad complete with Feta cheese, enjoy some succulent Korean BBQ on Thursday, and finish the week off truly British style with fish & chips on a Friday. For a traveller at heart, Canada is in a way, sort of a dream country to live. What else could I ask for? I don't need to travel the globe to have these things, they were right in my backyard. Oh and my obsession for gelato? Well I do have an authentic Italian gelato shop just a short 5 block walk from my house..

You see, I thought I was unsure if I wanted to go back to University this year because I didn't want to invest the money if I didn't know what it was I wanted to take.. but the thing is, I am in my own world University right now. I am learning outside the classroom all the things I ever needed to know. And as for the cost, well I'd say it has pretty well broke even haha. But that is the beautiful part. I haven't stopped learning, I never will. I dont't want to! But the biggest life lesson that I have come across is the most simple of all. The Beatles said it best.. "Love is all you need". And they were also correct when they realized "I get by with a little help from my friends". I have been listening to the Beatles nonstop this week actually. I think that group of funny-haired little British boys really knew something about something. We should start replace all of the over-played crap on the mainstream radio with some their wisdom. Maybe if my generation could embrace some of their before-their-time ideas, we'd all be a little less lost in this world. Have a glorious Sunday one and all :-) I hope I could end your weekend on a happy, loving note!

Advertisement



26th March 2013

well spoken little pilgrim
you are doing so great little missy. we go away to learn of ourselves in so many ways. being alone sucks. being unhappy sucks. being grumpy sucks. it is all in the eys of the beholder. recognize it when it comes and change it. The first part to recovery is acknowledging our wrong doings. we are just human after all. love ya. Maureen

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb