Shopping and Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 26th 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

VeniceVeniceVenice

...just like we imagined.
I'm writing at an Internet cafe in Venice. The city is actually pretty small. I heard everyone gets lost here, but Phuong and I have been navigating it quite well and haven't gotten too disoriented.

I don't think this city is as pretty as any of the others we have been to, and there's not much to do besides shopping, but the people here are incredibly nice and helpful. I got a haircut (I'll try to post that picture here tomorrow!) that I love. It wasn't as pricy as I thought (20 Euros), and it's cute, chic. I think I look like the character Claire from the movie The Breakfast Club.

Tomorrow evening, we leave for Vienna. I'm excited for all the coffee!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Pigeons EverywherePigeons Everywhere
Pigeons Everywhere

All I could think of was my dad telling me that pigeons are diseased. They were *everywhere* in St. Mark's Square.
Photo Op.Photo Op.
Photo Op.

We took so many pictures in Italy! There wasn't much to do, but everything seemed romantic and worthy of photographs.
On the CanalsOn the Canals
On the Canals

Phuong and I are in Italy!
Salvador Dali?Salvador Dali?
Salvador Dali?

I ponder the nature of reality and time in Italy.
Walking into St. Mark's SquareWalking into St. Mark's Square
Walking into St. Mark's Square

This is our view was we walk into St. Mark's Square.
The most expensive latte ever...The most expensive latte ever...
The most expensive latte ever...

...but it was worth it!
Venice at NightVenice at Night
Venice at Night

We stayed at St. Mark's Square until the sun went down to see it lit up.
Fire DancersFire Dancers
Fire Dancers

For some reason unknown to us, there were people doing tricks with flaming sticks. It looked pretty cool, so we snapped a shot before heading back to our "hostel."
Our Italian FriendsOur Italian Friends
Our Italian Friends

I went into the Internet cafe for about five minutes, and when I came out, Phuong was sitting at a table full of older Italian folk! They were so funny, but they didn't speak a bit of English (nor us Italian...).
Phuong and the Accordian PlayerPhuong and the Accordian Player
Phuong and the Accordian Player

As we sat at the cafe with the elderly Italian group, one of their friends (relatives?) came by, a young man who played the accordian. He played for Phuong and me.
Native American DancersNative American Dancers
Native American Dancers

When we went back to the train station to catch our train to Vienna, we stopped to watch a Native American dancing/singing group. They were really good, but I'm not sure why they were in Italy. Still, we loved it!


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 17; qc: 75; dbt: 0.128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb