Last stop in Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
January 27th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I heard so many comments about Venice being a smelly city and not worth seeing but I think Venice was my favorite! I ended up meeting two girls on the train while headed to Venice. One of the girls was from Elmhurst! How crazy. It was fun to talk to some Americans. It was a lot colder in Venice and it was harder to walk around everywhere because at this point we had all of our luggage (backpack and purse) since we decided to stay the night outside of Milan near the airport. Besides the cold weather and the heavy backpacks the city was so beautiful. There are bridges everywhere and gondolas galore. Even the construction workers need to take boats to get everywhere. With all the water in Venice it is just so different.

From the train station I found the Piazza San Marco which is the only real square that is famous. There I admired the Basilica di San Marco, and the Palazzo Ducale. There is a spot in the square where pigeons swarm. I tried to stay clear of this area. Surrounding the area are sidewalk cafes and fancy shops. South of the piazza is the Canal Grande. Andrea and I only had time to walk around and take pictures before we caught our train to Milan.

Our final stop in Venice was a great end to everything. I have never been so enamored with a country. Italy is beautiful wherever you go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



27th January 2006

pics
Thanks for including all the pictures! Glad you are having a great time.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb