Took the train to Pisa, then Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
January 25th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My whirlwind tour of Italy continued as I took the Eurail to Pisa for the afternoon. It is a cute city! I really like the slower pace compared to Rome. It was still pretty touristy right by the Leaning tower but it was fun to see the real thing.

Florence was even more slower-paced compared to Rome. It is so beautiful in Florence. We saw the David, then attended mass at Santa Maria del Fiore. This was my first experience at a mass. Besides the language barrier, I didn't get very much out of the service. It seemed like a show. It was a good experience though and at least I got to go to church while traveling in Italy. We walked around a lot in Florence mostly admiring the sights. We didn't have a huge checklist like in Rome so it has been more relaxed. In fact, we decided to do a day trip to Siena the afternoon we were in Florence. We only made it to Empoli because the train schedule was so different on a Sunday we couldn't figure it out in time. It was a fun day though getting to see a random Italian city. EMily went to EMpoli! 😊

I took so many pictures of each city but I'm trying to give a glimpse of what I saw since I'm highly encouraged not to spend time on the internet since that doesn't involve Spanish. This program is hard core.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

The DavidThe David
The David

I wasn't supposed to take a picture of this....silly American tourists.
Hannah and Andrea in EmpoliHannah and Andrea in Empoli
Hannah and Andrea in Empoli

Our efforts to see Sienna didn't happen but an exciting discovery of Empoli was fun.
Most amazing shower!Most amazing shower!
Most amazing shower!

In florence we paid extra for a private room in the hostel. The shower was open inside the bathroom and we all loved it! I have never had such an amazing shower.


25th January 2006

WOW!!
Girl, it looks like you are having a blast!! I'm so excited for you, this semester is going to be so amazing for you- Way to soak up all of the great experiences!! Love you lots, Grace and Peace, RMK
25th January 2006

Pisa, Florence et al
Emmy: What did your dad say about the shower in the bathroom? Reminds me of a motel in Michigan. The photo of the "David" looks about the same size as the replica in the gallery at Caesar's Palace in Las Vegas. Love, Aunt Cheri
25th January 2006

OMG!
Emily, the pictures are gorgeous! It can't believe how beautiful it all is! I just love it. I hope that you are having a blast! love you Girlie, Cynthia
25th January 2006

Shopping?
I forgot to ask if you have found cool stuff while you are site seeing? Have you had any time to shop and spend some euros?

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb