Venezia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally got to wander Venice today. I walked all along the amazing streets (yes they do have streets you can walk on and bridges you can cross, it's not all gondolas). It really is a beautiful city. Pictures are still to come because I need to find an internet connection for my laptop that's fast enough to let me upload pics.

I also managed to get lost, a lot. Every street looks alike here and around every corner is a bridge to cross and another alley way to walk through. I ended up all the way on the other side of the city before I found the outside of it and walked all the way around the waterfront until I found the cruise terminal. I really wish I had remembered how to say "cruise ship" in Italian because the word "Porto" really doesn't do me much good for asking directions in a city full of water. Although the irony of getting lost here is that twice while I was trying to find my way I was asked for directions as if I was Italian.

After I reoriented myself I made another go for the city and found this internet cafe. I also successfully ordered an orange Fanta in Italian, and I even remembered my per favore's and grazie's.

So far countries visited have been Croatia, Turkey, and Greece. I got off the ship in Istanbul and Kusadasi, and also in Katakolon. I have pictures from there as well. Whether or not I post them is dependent on the internet I have available to me.

Ciao,
Jenn

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb