and here I am


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Split
September 19th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I made it to the ship. I spent 10 hours flying to Frankfurt, Germany and arrived only to find out that my connecting flight had been cancelled due to a ground crew strike at several Italian airports (including Venice). So, fortunately for me, I was rescheduled for another flight (some were not so lucky and had to wait on standby). Unfortunately for me I had to wait around for 7 hours in Frankfurt airport. My laptop battery was dead and there was no way for me to charge it on a European outlet, and after being awake already for 20 some odd hours, I didn't have to stamina to read, so I think I passed the time by starring blankly off into space. I honestly have no idea where the time went, but it seemed endless.

And for some reason my cell phone still doesn't work internationally. Thank you, T Mobile for disappointing me once again. Everytime I call customer service I have to explain to someone knew what my phone and service should be capable of when they try to tell me otherwise. Apparently, T Mobile employees don't read their website. Of course now to go through that process is much more costly because I have to call from friggin' Europe to deal with it. So hopefully my phone will be up and running soon. I don't plan on making calls with it, but it would be nice to have text message capability.

Beyond that, I haven't seen much of the ports yet because I can't get off the ship yet. We left Venice yesterday and we were in Croatia today. Tomorrow we're at sea. The ship is nice though. It's totally reversed from the other ship I was on with Carnival, so I'm still getting lost. They put me up in a temporary guest cabin until my predecessor leaves, so I've got pretty cushy digs for the next 10 days. I do enjoy working for this company. There were a lot of petty issues I had with Carnival that are just non-issues here, so that's awesome. There are a few more perks too. There are a couple nuisances about the job, but the trade-off is definitely worthwhile. More on that later.

Ciao...




Advertisement



19th September 2008

wow you're there!
Glad you hear you made it over there and are enjoying your time so far. pictures please. ;)
24th September 2008

Whoa!
Hello! I'm so jealous! I called (finally) and got an error message. Then I checked my email and saw this. Congratulations on the new job. Guess I can't ask you to accompany me on my cross country road trip. 'Til next time. Deb

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb