I LOVE Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 1st 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful VeniceBeautiful VeniceBeautiful Venice

What a photogenic city!
I was in Venice today! It was gorgeous- my favourite so far I think. It's been the most different place so far.

We took a boat from the Fusina campsite into Venice. Then we walked to St Marks Square. On our way we seen the Bridge of Sighs. I finally got to see it! It was so cool being there at 9:00 in the morning when not many people are in the square. We had to wait a little bit before we could go to the lace making school. I bought a tablecloth for my grandma there. Everything was beautiful! I could have bought so much. After that we went to a glass making place. A guy demonstrated how they make things by making a glass horse infront of us in like seconds. It was amazing and the things that they had for sale were awesome, but WAY too expensive.

Then it was time for free time! We didn't get maps of Venice- we were told to get lost and that would be the best way to discover it. Karen and I walked around all of the tiny streets and I tried to take as many pictures as I
Gondola RideGondola RideGondola Ride

Enjoying the peaceful waters of Venice.
possible could. A city without cars! It's hard to take it all in. The tiny streets are lined with store after store and every once in a while you come across a bridge that crosses over one of the canals or waterways. I bought some things- necklaces, drama masks, and a fan because it was SO HOT out. We ate sandwhiches and gelato- yum!!!!

We met up with the group at 4:00 to go on the gondolas. It was sweet and long waited for. It was so entirely relaxing and quiet moving through the canals. I was in a gondola with five other girls. A few of them got up on the end of the boat and helped the gondolier man drive. I think the ride was about half an hour or so. I wasn't exactly focused on time in the moment. I was just happy to be living a dream.

Shortly after the gondola rides we headed back to the campsite. It was a bit sad to have to leave Venice after such a short time. But, tonight at the campsite was FUN!! Fusina lived up to it's reputation. They had a bbq for us for supper
Party Time!Party Time!Party Time!

Livin' it up with some Contiki Sisters.
- chicken, fried, salad, and apples for dessert. Then, it was time for the sumo wrestling competition! It was SO funny!! I LOVE VENICE!!!

We partied at the bar and it was awesome. They were selling buckets of beer for 10 euro, There was lots of dancing, chatting, and even a drinking game.

Now Gloria, Karen and I are visiting in the cabin. Tomorrow we are off to Florence. Good-bye Venice! I love you. You rocked my world- and my gondola.

I love this place....Contiki rocks!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb