Carnivale Take 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Todays events were as follows:
We got up early and I wasn't feeling too good. I got yelled at last night by some Venetian jerk because I didn't want him to talk to me and was apparently "rude" and used a few swear words. He told me to go back to my country. I had never felt so belittled in all my life. Now I know how minorities in America feel when we shout that at them. It's terrible. Looking back on it I probably was rude but I don't care. I don't like sketch Italian men trying to talk to me when I'm inebriated. There's this place in Venice where you can buy wine and put it in your water bottle. It's pretty cheap (about 2.50 euro) and definitely the coolest thing ever! We went to San Marco square last night for this Carnivale show. There was lots of lights and weird images on a screen and people doing weird acrobatic type stuff. All in all it was as I already stated, weird. We went to Murano today and saw how they make Venetian glass. It's no different than how they make glass at Jamestown, but it was still cool. The guy made a glass horse which was really cool. It took him literally about two minutes. I wanted to go on a gondola ride today but couldn't find a gondola to take me on one 😞 It probably wouldn't have been any fun anyway because it was rainy and cold. The boat ride to Murano took 1 hour and the ride back took 15 minutes. Crazy. We're currently on a sleeper train. It's so sketchy. There's this smelly frenchman named Dan who works on the train and he comes around to Natalie, Liza and Liz's car a lot. I went in there to sit with them a while before bed, but sketchy Dan kept coming and trying to kiss us and it was just weird. After I left he apparently legitimately almost kissed Liz and he apparently got a little upset that they locked him out after that. lol. O well. The train wasn't that comfy to sleep on but it worked. I can't wait till Vienna 😊 END.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

The Tower at NightThe Tower at Night
The Tower at Night

During this Carnivale thing it kept changing. It was weird.
The Big Bridge The Big Bridge
The Big Bridge

We crossed this a lot.
SketchvilleSketchville
Sketchville

We were going to eat at a restaurant in Murano that was supposed to be over here but then decided not too. Thank goodness!
Venezia by Boat 2Venezia by Boat 2
Venezia by Boat 2

The poles with the candy cane coloring signal that you can park your boat there.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb