Venice and some Castles


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
July 24th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last time I left off I was on my way to Venice for the weekend. Since the booming Waterford airport only flies to the UK, I had to truck it to Shannon in order to fly to Venice. Typically it should take 2 - 2 ½ hours to get to Shannon from Waterford. I had to check in for my flight at 4:10 pm. I left work at noon which gave me plenty of time to go get my rental car #2 and drive to Shannon. Well needless to say after being stuck behind a tractor and some sheep, I made it to the Shannon airport at 4:15. I think I threatened every person and sheep on the road with angry stares and yelling. I had to beg to get on the flight which left at 4:50 pm. I was able to get on the flight - YEAH!!!

Venice was wonderful. A lot of people warned me about the crowds and smells during the middle of the summer. I was very impressed with the city. My hotel was in the Roma Plaza which is on the west part of the city. St. Marks Square is on the other end of
St. Marks SquareSt. Marks SquareSt. Marks Square

From the top of the tower
the city but the city is so small you can easily walk it. One of the cheapest things to do is to get an unlimited 48 hour ferry ticket and just ride up and down the grand canal. I would try to get a seat in the back of the ferry where it was open and I would ride up and down reading my tour book. I took the local ferry which stopped at every ferry stop. When I found something I liked in the book, I hoped off the ferry. I spent all day Saturday and Sunday in Venice. I flew back to Shannon Sunday evening and drove back to Waterford late Sunday night. The drive back was much better - no tractors or sheep at 2:00 am. I returned rental car #2 Monday morning.

The work week was fine last week. Nothing major came up or happened worth mentioning. I finally got my rental car #1 back on Thursday. It took them 11 days to fix a door and a bumper. The speed of how things operate around here is amazing. The final amount came out to be 3,453 Euros. I still don’t think the car is
Rock of CashelRock of CashelRock of Cashel

Some really old castle in Ireland

I called Amex again (which is paying for the damage through the insurance) and worked out a payment plan. They actually wired me $5000 using Western Union. I just paid for the damages in cash to the mechanic and then I can put the transfer on dispute until the Amex claim is paid. I caught a cab from work, he drove me to the post office where I received the wire. He then drove me to the mechanic. I was carrying 3500 Euros in cash - all in 50’s which was a huge stack of bills. Luckily I made it safely to the mechanic without getting mugged and I got my car! It has been 7 days and still no wrecks!!

This past weekend I toured Ireland and saw a few castles. I went to Cahir castle which wasn’t very impressive. It was a castle built a long time ago that is still intact (not sure on the century - 11th I think). I went to Rock of Cashel which I really enjoyed. This was a castle built even longer ago (9th century I think) and some of the remains are still there. It was amazing.
I went to
Hook PennisulaHook PennisulaHook Pennisula

Looking at the Atlantic from the southwest tip of Ireland
the southwestern tip to the Hook Peninsula and saw the world’s oldest lighthouse (at least that is what they say).

I may have to go to London for work tomorrow - I will find out later today. This weekend I’m going to Scotland for another quick weekend getaway. I’m flying into Glasgow on Friday then I’m staying in Edinburgh on Saturday and Sunday and flying back to Ireland Sunday night. Hopefully no one decides to ram a flaming Jeep Cherokee into the Glasgow airport again. Wouldn't that be just my luck......

Hope all is well in the states!
Jason


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb