PDA and Touri-ized


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

That morning due to the drink we slept in till 9. I felt gross. I never sleep in past 10. I just love to have as much day as I can. We had breakfest then went to Venice again. We had to make our way to the opposite side of Venice to catch a boat to Murano an island off of Venice. It took about an hour and I even utilized the map. Id like to see anyone try to find thier way around Venice. It is madness. We went to Murano which is where they make glass that is GORGEOUS. I love glass. I mean that sincerely. Any kind of glass. Colored glass, clear glass, window glasss. It is all good. They make beautiful necklaces and such and I bought some things which I am going to love forever. I just think glass objects are fantastic. If you want to make me happy buy me something cool made of glass. Oh man the second we got off the boat this guy said this way to the glass museum, it is free admission. I was stoked of course so we went and it turned out to be a store of glass everything. So I spent 30 euros on gifts and things for myself. So pretty much I paid to go to a store. Scam. Oh well. When I was paying a man started singing to us in Italian. Cute..but awkward. We again ate sandwiches in an alley and got many stares. Partly because of eating in an alley way and partly because there were hardly any tourists on this island, especially American tourists. I LOVED IT. I am a tourist yes but I hate them. Rome and Venice are wonderful but they are tour-ized. I made this word up. It means terrorized by tourists. Murano is not. We took a boat back and on the way decicded that if we ever have band it will be called Public Displays of Affection. Copyright-2007.
That night we stayed inside due to bug bites covering our bodies especially Melissa. We look like lepers and they itch so bad that I want to scratch them till they bleed. Plus my ankle is swollen. Such is the traveling woes.

Advertisement



11th June 2007

Glass
Hey Hannah, It's fun (and funny) reading your observations about travel. Christine and Delphine were in Venice last October, a much less tour-ized time than now (and no my use of your invented word does not yet make it a real word in Websters; that would likely take about 100,000 uses, but it's a start). Delphine also came back with a little colored glass picture frame. You can compare glass objects when you get back. Now on to Americans - I'm afraid we must look stupid to Europeans because on the one hand our country is so powerful and influential in the world and yet seems to be so crassly, brazenly, mucking up things everywhere. So that's the burden of being a citizen of the 'evil empire.' Sad. When I traveled in Europe in the 70s there was no such 'bad vibe' about Americans. How times change! ciao Gary

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb