Spiders, tents, and upgrades . . . oh my!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 1st 2007
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Venice by NightVenice by NightVenice by Night

Our friend Sophie and us on the Vaporetto (water bus) seeing the city by night . . . close call making it to the last bus.
Alright folks, if you thought yesterday's entry was funny, you're going to love this. We have yet another funny story, but this one was not so funny to us when it first happened. So after eating dinner at the campground restaurant last night we went into Venice to familiarize ourselves a little. We decided to take a ferry ride down the Grand Canal so we could see as much as possible in as little as possible. Great idea, it took about 45 min. to go about 3/4 of the way down the river . . . however, we had to be back to the bus stop at 10:30 in order to catch the last bus and we were still waiting for the return ferry at 9:40!! We started to panic a little and then I said to Jen, "oh come on! Just relax!!" Sort of teasing her about our discussion about me needing to relax, etc. because she was the one getting really nervous. We finally got on the ferry and were about 4 stops away at 10:15, and then we both start to panic a little, especially me because this whole thing was my idea!! We got in at
GondolaGondolaGondola

Someone could front the 70 bucks for a Gondola, and it wasn't us!
about 10:25 and I ran to make sure we didn't miss the bus . . . phew! Close call.

Just wait it gets better . . .

So, we were just talking with some of our new friends and they were asking if we were staying in a cabin or what not and we were like, "Oh no, we camp! We stay in a tent and they provide all the stuff, etc." (We said this with an air of "we're-so-tough" in our voices, haha). Well we get back to our tent and Jen pulls out our source of light, the headlamp and starts moving some stuff around and then she gasps/screams . . . there is a HUGE spider about 10 inches above her bed. She is freaking out . . . I mean Jen doesn't really freak about anything, but she couldn't do/say anything except, "oh my gosh, oh my gosh" and breathe. Surprisingly enough, I was the calm one who told her to just get out of the tent and I'd take care of it, which I did, thank you very much! It was a bit of a struggle but I got the spider out of
Toga anyone?Toga anyone?Toga anyone?

That's right, after the spider scare and the upgrade we decided to look ridiculous and attend a toga party . . . we stayed for about 45 min. Apparently Europeans' idea of good music is a bad wedding mix.
the tent (I thought I had dropped it in the tent again, after I had attempted to just smack it dead and that didn't work), on the ground, and then under my shoe! That spider didn't stand a chance! So now we've killed the spider, but we start talking . . . remember we're both pretty freaked out and frantic . . . and we're say to each other, "I don't think I can sleep here tonight. Let's go to reception and try and upgrade to a cabin." We debated for about 4 minutes and then ran down to the reception area. The woman said, "yes?" And I proceeded to say, "Alright, we just saw a HUGE spider in our tent and a few other bugs, is there anyway we can upgrade to a cabin?" (I was a little out of breath too). She looked at me like I was crazy!! Hey lady, if you saw a huge spider like that, killed it and then saw a small one in the same tent, were surrounded by trees and are generally a paranoid person when it comes to bugs, you'd want an upgrade too!!! (Don't worry we didn't say that!) So we find out that for 4 Euros more we can stay in a cabin with our own bathroom . . . why didn't we know this before? I don't know!!

So yeah, we had quite the laugh and I wish you all could of seen Jen in her finest . . . I mean you've all seen me worked up a little, before, but Jen was like a different person . . .she even said, "ugh, I hate bugs, ugh, I can't sleep here, we need to get a cabin!" I was shocked, and even more shocked that I tried to convince her there wouldn't be another spider, and suggest that we actually stay in the tent! What was I thinking!?!?

Well we're off to Greece tomorrow on a Cruise Ship! 😊 You're jealous, right? Well don't worry we're getting deck tickets which means we're sleeping on a bench or the floor, but hey we have all the amenities . . . pool, restaurant, bar and a disco!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb