The Ebike- where have you been all of my life?


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Dolomites
August 14th 2015
Published: August 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Who would believe that you could ride a bike that would help you get up a hill looking like a pro. Friday - I rode my first Ebike up a major mountain in the Dolomites- and ask WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL OF MY LIFE?

At first it was rather daunting trying to figure out how to ride this very very heavy bike. As we started up the mountain I saw hills that even in my fittest days would have had me huffing and puffing. I discovered the four levels of "pedal assist" and fell in love with the Turbo level (highest I may add) to getting up those hills. Now don't misunderstand - this isn't a motorcycle - you have to pedal but with every down-way thrust that machine BECOMES like an angle making every pedal that much stronger. SO I WAS EXERSIZING with help. There is one catch though - you can use up the battery to quickly and then you are stuck! I was extremely nervous I would loose all assist half way up so I started playing around with the different levels and by the time we made it to the top I was happy and a little exhausted laughing about how much fun that ride had been.

Don't forget we are in the Dolomites where everyone here is the size of matchstick (they are all narrow and thin) riding on their road bikes up hills that are unforgiving. So as we road pass them - lets not forget that these guys aren't super men- I'm sure they were saying not nice things about what a shunda it is to be riding these "fake Bikes" and i have to admit we felt like we were cheating but I kept that turbo on all the way to the top of the mountain! HALLELUJAH

As we rode along the top of a mountain ridge and the black clouds and lightening started getting closer we jumped on our new bikes pressed on level eco and off we went before the rain started to pour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

no Ebikes for this guy... unfathomable no Ebikes for this guy... unfathomable
no Ebikes for this guy... unfathomable

riding up those mountain passes
going down hill on an Ebike is complicatedgoing down hill on an Ebike is complicated
going down hill on an Ebike is complicated

beware - the bike is twice as heavy and stopping on gravel roads takes a lot of concentration!
how much juice do i have ? how much juice do i have ?
how much juice do i have ?

the screen that tells you how much power you are using and how much battery is left.


Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 101; dbt: 0.1393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb