I dolomiti


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Dolomites
January 27th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The past weekend, for a quick lil' Saturday day trip, I went with my Italian host family to the Dolomiti Mountains up north in the Veneto region. It was a trip with the youngest daughter's school, so it was some children of the class, and their family members. It was an absolutely, drop-dead gorgeous scenery. We left at 6:30AM so we were able to see the sunset, and we didn't leave the mountains until around 4:30pm... so I also saw the sunset on the ride home. The snow was wonderful, and I was well dressed to not have to feel the cold -- thanks to the "tuta" that my Italian host-mother gave me to use. During the first part of the day, I went walking through the snow with some of the other adults -- one of which kept trying to remember the years of English he took... without much success. Nonetheless, it was a fun experience. We enjoyed some lunch, of which I first had panna cotta with fresh strawberries at the cafe' there in the company of my new friends, then a sandwich and other snacks later with my Italian family. After lunch, and after baking a little bit
Pelmo Pelmo Pelmo

I think this mountain was called Pelmo
in the much-missed sun, we took a horse-draw carriage/sled ride through the mountains. By the time, we accomplished all of this, it was time to get back on the pullman and enjoy the sunset, and Spiderman 3 dubbed in Italian, for the ride home. After which, we had to rush to get ready to get to one of the daughter's school show -- which was an event all in itself.
Nonetheless, it was a wonderful day spent in the snow in one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. My pictures do not do it justice -- I hope you enjoy them anyway!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Passeggiata Passeggiata
Passeggiata

This is part of my walk that I took
SNOW! SNOW!
SNOW!

There is a cute town right behind me
Peccato...Peccato...
Peccato...

It is a shame I had to attempt to get this beautiful shot of the sunset with the snow covered mountains through a pullman window... but it was so pretty this is the best I could do.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Always through the pullman window...but beautiful nonetheless.


Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb