A 4 Pass day!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Dolomites
June 25th 2007
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was another big day - 4 mountain passes reaching altitudes of 2244 m. Starting the day I was more than a little bit nervous. There have already been a number of riding suprises here and I was really apprehensive about encountering another. It's particularly more of an issue when riding alone. Regardless, I found my rhythm after leaving Covara on the first climb up to Passo Compolongo and I felt even more settled and stronger as I ascended Passo Pordoi. Before attempting Passo Sella, I stopped for lunch on the terrace of a most picturesque ristorante nestled beneath an array of raw mountain peaks. ( I have in the past put off eating only to suffer the consequences----bonking---- a situation where you lose all energy are unable to go on , an almost flu like feeling). After descending from Sella I began the final climb to Passo Gardena. By now all the fears of the morning had vanished and I was feeling quite pleased with my conditioning and the pace I had been able to maintain. Just for interest my average heart rate over the 3 hrs. and 48 mins of riding was 131 bpm and I covered 60 kms. so approx. 30 kms. of climbing. Tonight I feel tired but not exhausted; however, discretion would would dictate that tomorrow be a rest day. Ciao for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb