It's raining for real


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
October 30th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is the first time I've walked through the rain and been soaked. Thank goodness. I miss rains like that, even in Minnesota it's not quite the same.

I've been doing this internship the past few weeks at a library that is part of a private foundation here in Perugia. Basically what I'm supposed to do is write short summaries of the 95 children's books they have. Most of the books are from the turn of the last century. Today I read parts of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Through the Looking-Glass, and Peter and Wendy, as well as a couple of books of nursery rhymes. It was kind of interesting how many of the rhymes I recognized, but wouldn't be able to recite back. I've never read Peter Pan, and that was really fantastic. I just read the first and last chapter, which made me really nostalgic, as Peter Pan tends to do. When I walked outside it was dark and raining pretty hard. What perfect weather for my mood. I did the ten minute walk back to my apartment smiling into the rain and laughing to myself as vendors offered me umbrellas. We have the heat on in our apartment and things are very cozy here. It's only 5:30, but it might as well be eight. At least this gives me time to do my readings for tomorrow. There's thunder outside, beautiful.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb