Split, Croatia to Firenze, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
October 1st 2012
Published: October 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Split, Croatia to Ancona, Italy 30 September
It is now 3pm and we have been wandering Split since 11am waiting for our ferry, we have to board about 6pm, ferry leaves at 8pm and arrives in Ancona the following morning at 8.30am. Out train tickets to Florence/Firenze have been booked and paid for and we have arranged to meet Cristina Mancini at the Florence apartment tomorrow at 3pm.Jane and I did some retail therapy at Think Pink a store carrying Croatian designer clothing for women. Had a great time as the summer stock was on sale and if you bought 3 or more full price items then they took 20%!o(MISSING)ff the price. First thing this morning Jane and I went to the fruit and veg market to buy supplies for brekky. Figs, sheepskin cheese, raspberries, a bit of rocket and fresh bread to go with the avocado and prosciutto we had at home. I am going to miss being able to buy fresh from the markets each day. We are currently at a bar on the esplanade between the bay and the old city playing cards, Jane has taught Ken and I how to play golf. Ken has won most games, but Jane and I have not disgraced ourselves either. Now on the train leaving Ancona heading for Firenze. The ferry trip was almost non-eventful. Ken's bunk had a broken support so he slept in mine and I ended up one one of the top bunks. Spent a bit of time convincing myself I would not fall out! It is a long time since I have slept in one of those. I think the last time was when I was about 6 years old when the family left Kalgoorlie to live in Perth. We had bought some food from one of the restaurants in the old city so we had our last Croatian meal on board sitting in the stern on the sundeck, bit of a misnomer is it was cloudy and the poor old full moon had a difficult time shining through! I had taken a shine to the limun beer while in Croatia so we bought some from the bar on board, not a scratch on the Croatian drop so will probably give it a miss while in Italy. We were an hour late leaving Split but arrived in Ancona in plenty of time to catch our train. While we waited we played more golf, I can see this becoming a regular way to pass the time. First impress ions of Italy? Crowded, chaotic but organised. The buildings seem old and dirty but I have only seen the areas around the train station and ferry wharf. The buildings seem to be in the same age and condition as those we left in Split but on the whole they seem less cared for. The people we have dealt with so far seem to have less energy that the Croatians, but I think this would also be true for most Australians. We used the post office at the station to send some bits and pieces home. Only one staff member (not the one we were dealing with) understood english and our staffer did not seem to have a sense of humour, no smile, no attempt to explain things to us with sign language. It is one of the great things about being in Croatia, little fuss is made but always a way is found to make whatever you are after happen. I could use crossing the road as an example. In Italy I stepped in front of a car on the way to the bus stop and was loudly tooted for my indiscretion. I n Croatia the driver would have just slowed and gone around me, my presence would have been taken into account. A little similar to the Asian approach where traffic and people merge seamlessly, but perhaps more care taken in Croatia! Ancona to Firenze, 1 OctoberThe train is very comfortable, Jane and I are sitting together with a desk between us and the opposing seats. Ken is on the other side of the aisle. Bologna next stop, 15 mins between trains then onto Firenze. We should arrive at 2.35pm. Successful train change at Bologna and Cristina met us at the apartment in Firenze at 3.15. Once settled in we headed down the street to buy some bits and pieces for dinner and tomorrow's brekky. We were all a bit tired so an early night it was. The apartment was a bit noisy and as our room fronts onto Borga Pinti I did I not have much sleep. It was as tho' the neighbours were very noisy or else there is a night club in our street!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb