Barcelona, Cannes and Livorno


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Livorno
July 14th 2011
Published: July 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, here we are on QV119 I think, gems of the med part 2. This voyage we dont call into palermo (sicily) we are in livorno (Italy) instead and have afew days less.
In Barca, because I had done La Grasse Famillia last time, I went for tapas with my new cabin mate Pete. Its the first time Id tried it and most of it wasnt bad. I got to try Muscles (I know thats wrong) for the first time, along with some other suspicious looking seafood items that I thought it was best not to ask what they were. Lets just say I think one of them had tentacles at some point in its life.
Apart from that Barca was pretty uneventful, the weather was overcast but still baking hot even in the shade.
The next day we arrived in Cannes again. I got off with Pete, Dave and Pato, and we headed straight for the banana boats. Dave had never been on one before, so we all took his banana virginity.
After being thrown around the med for 15 minutes we went to find some food. After a long walk to a cafe Pato remembered, we sat and had a croque monsieur each (apart from dave, the weird vegetarian but not a vegetarian) and got back on board.
That night we were supposed to be setting a band on the lido pool on the aft of the ship, but as I was standing there doing a weather assessment a lighting bolt struck the nearest mountain, so that decided it for me that we would be inside that day. Sure enough it tipped it down not long afterwards, just long enough to get permission to set the deck party inside that night. Of course as soon as we had set it up the clouds vanished and it turned into a gorgeous night, full moon reflecting off the sea and calm waters.
The setup that night was Celtic Heartbeat, the biggest thing we have to do as we build a whole lot of rigging, which takes over an hour to do.
When we woke up this morning it was crew drill time and today was bomb drill. Everyone gets split into teams and sent to various areas to look for the bombs that have been planted throughout the ship. Of course one was found straight away in the theatre, but I have no idea where the others were.
While we were doing this we found out that one of the singers is sick which means we cant do Celtic tonight. The plan then changed that we would have a guest entertainer tonight and bring in a midstage black curtain to cover the set and do it tomorrow. Just before I got off I heard its now been changed and we have to strike Celtic after the show tonight, set another one called Dance Passion, then we are doing Celtic towards the end of the voyage, which means more late nights that we were planning on but ah well.
Im writing this in a cafe somewhere in Livorno with an expresso, may head back to the ship soon to do some sunbathing on the deck, spa, watch a film or something as Im not working untill 8.30 tonight and thats only spotlights.
We're in civitavetchi again tomorrow and instead of going to Rome again on the train I think we are planning on a lazy day around town. Hope everyones doing alright back home, its nearly 6 weeks since I left now (6 weeks on sunday, but I have no idea when sunday is) so if anyone wants to ring me Im in southampton on wednesday and will have signal from 8am to around 6pm. I'll add some photos to this blog tomorrow as Iv forgotten my bloody camera adapter.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb