From My Bumpy Flight to Paris, to a Hop, Skip and a Leap Over the Alps


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 9th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Flight over the French AlpsFlight over the French AlpsFlight over the French Alps

En Route from Paris to Florence
It seemed almost a waste of good ink to receive a passport stamp from the French customs officials for such a very short layover within the confines of Paris' Charles De Gaulle Airport (especially since I did not visit customs upon arrival in Italy; I want my stamp!). Although I couldn't recognize it in his completely serious tone, I think the agent was teasing me for having not visited New Caledonia, for some reason, when he recognized my previous trips to the former French colonials Vanuatu and French Tahiti, all of which came off as though he was quizzing me on my own record as a security measure. And I thought the Germans were supposed to be lacking in the Humor Department! The layover was quick and easy, although directions to the appropriate terminal and gate were difficult to find, and just a bit worrying since I'd heard about difficulties in navigating terminals. It wasn't a problem, in part due to my teaming up with another American, a software architect from Little Rock with a strong German name and a striking resemblance to who was destined for the same connecting flight to Florence. I hung out with him at Bert's for a beer while we quickly drew from our 15-minute allotments of free WiFi service. Ha-haa...I showed those Parisians! Two computers in hand, I used up a generous portion of my 30 minutes of free service! ':~D

The flight to Florence was grand. The Alps were of course majestic, and I still couldn't help but ponder my passage over so much geography, with my perspective on what travel used to be like in Priestley's Day (see my earlier posts re: Book Report). By the way, did I mention that he essentially discovered oxygen? He famously used glass jars in experiments to decipher, although without completely explaining, that plants produce and animals consume "a proportion" of the air required for vigor and life. His discovery/realization was lent some direction in passing from his friend Ben Franklin. Another interesting fact about this scientist you've probably never heard of; of the 165 letters that aging former Presidents Thomas jefferson and John Adams shared together, Ben Franklin is mentioned just five times, George Washington is mentioned three times, and their "nemesis" Alexander Hamilton earned only two references; however, Joseph Priestly was discussed over fifty times, indicating his contribution to society at the time. Priestly would eventually move to America...which I suppose I will do too...sometime next month. Can you tell I'm loving this book...?

This is my last travel day for a while, so on to the "travel" blogging...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb