First Day in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
March 23rd 2012
Published: March 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

322

Florence, Italy

I have just completed my first day in Florence. It seems almost surreal. My roommate and I got up and headed out by 10 and didn’t get back to the apartment until after 6. Stayed about an hour and went out again for a couple more. I’m going to sleep well tonight, especially considering the huge flight of stairs and hill we have to go up to get back to the apartment after sightseeing all day. Just a reminder of how out of shape I’m in. I’m sure that will be fixed when the time comes to move out of here.

For breakfast we went to a small bar (café) and had fresh fruit and peach juice. It came with free Wi-Fi and I tried to get a Facebook post in; but I’m unsure if it actually posted. Then we wandered until it was time for our practical tour, which meant that we get shown the grocery store, mail boxes, and such. After that Michelle (my roommate) and I meandered about with Taylor (another girl from the program but in a different apartment). About six we split to go home, rested our tired feet and then looked around our neighborhood and went to a local restaurant that was in our meal plan. We did what the locals do and lingered over our dinner taking a full two hours to eat two courses. Gold star for us! Tomorrow we have orientation, welcome lunch (free! or rather included in our program cost), and a guided tour with a professional tour guide.

It is now midnight, 4pm your time, so I should get to sleep since we have to meet at nine in the morning and I am wiped.

Kelly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb