March 23rd


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
March 23rd 2012
Published: March 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

3/23/12



Today was orientation, I got some good information about what to expect from the classes and excursions. How to deal with the beggars, just ignore them, and how the AIFS staff is there to help. It is comforting knowing they are there. Next we went to lunch as a group at Ristorante Buca Poldo, where we were served a type of pasta with a meat sauce, soo yummy! The second course was cooked spinach, and chicken in a lemon sauce. There was a fishy taste to this dish so I didn’t eat more than a couple of bites. For dessert we had tiramisu, I took the bite I promised Liz I would, but here is a shocker I didn’t like it because it tasted like coffee!



After lunch we had a tour with an official tour guide, it was supposed to be about historic Florence and we did get some historic details, but our guide went into more interesting details, like where the best gelato, pizza, and markets are. She also taught us how to orient ourselves by the two main towers in accordance with the river. She was very nice and I enjoyed our time with her. She even suggested her favorite spot to stand on Easter when they blow up the cart. I’m really excited about that, also where all the people in the “parade” get ready so you can see them as they prepare. After the tour our group was pretty tired so we all went our separate ways, my feet and lower back were hurting so Michelle and I headed back to our apartment to rest before dinner.



During orientation we registered for our extra activities we want to do. The list is great, I signed up for all of them; plus it is a subsidized rate which is reasonable. I’m sure your all wondering what they are so here is the list:



3/24 Day trip to Siena & San Gimignano



3/26 White wine tasting



3/29- 4/1 Weekend in Sorrento with a day trip to Capri, free time, guided tour of Pompeii and a trip to the top of Mount Vesuvius.



4/3 Opera at St. Mark’s Church: La Triviata



4/11 Walking tour of Curiosities of Florence



4/13 Cinque Terre Daytrip



4/16 Olive oil Tasting



4/20 Montepulciano & Pienz Day trip (yes the town new moon was based)



4/21 Hiking in Tuscany



4/22 Soccer match – Florentina vs. Inter Milan


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wishing Well in SienaWishing Well in Siena
Wishing Well in Siena

It isn't actually a wishing well, but I can believe it is.
Great shop in SienaGreat shop in Siena
Great shop in Siena

They use a classic old loom to make their clothes. The older couple that own it were so nice, even though they didn't speak english and we don't know much beyond hello, thankyou and goodbye in Italian. I did purchase a sweater here, I love it!


1st April 2020
Wishing Well in Siena

Very romantic Siena !

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb