Southern Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 13th 2011
Published: June 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

from Caprifrom Caprifrom Capri

us sitting on a rock next to the tall cliff we jumped off of.
Today, I am back in Florence after a weekend of amazing adventures in Southern Italy. The busride lasted for like 6 whole hours with like 2 rest stops. The first thing we did was a trip to Mt. Vesuvius. The busride up was crazy!! First off, our bus was huge. Secondly, the rode to Mt. Vesuvius was intensely curvy and similar to traveling up to Table Rock Mountain in NC. And lastly, Italians drive crazy. Our busdriver was not scared of passing by other cars and buses with only a centimeter between the two. I was surprised we did not scrape up against some other vehicles. It was hilarious because the driver had to constantly honk the whole way up the mountain to avoid hitting cars coming back down the mountain because the roads were so curvy. The vocano was really cool. We were practically above the clouds, and it was actually quite cool at the top. All of the rocks were igneious and a cool greyish and some red color. I picked up a bunch of rocks and put them in my pocket to keep. That weekend we stayed in a very nice hotel at Sorrento. That city is a seaside cliffed city which was beautiful to walk around. We went to a limoncello tasting event, which was a strong native liquor type thing I think. Tasted like some pretty mean lemons. Growing lemons was a big deal here, there were lemon farms and lemons at every stand on the street. These people like their lemons. The next day, we took a ferry boat to the Isle of Capri. This was the most beautiful city I have ever seen in my whole entire lifetime of 18 years and 361 days. On the boat tour around the island, I felt like I was in Jurassic Park. The island looked like a jungle with high hills and cliffs. Seagulls were circling throughout the entire sky around the cliffs and I imagined them to be pteredactyls, pretty cool. Later that day, me and friends went to this beach area made from stones. There were rocks in the crystal clear ocean. We swam through the cool and refreshing water to this one very tall cliff to jump off of. I was mega scarred at first but after a lot of people jumped, they finally convinced me to do the same. On Sunday, we went to Pompei, the city destroyed by Mt. Vesuvius. It was pretty cool, old buildings and stuff but I kinda expected to see more dead people covered in stone. It was a really fun weekend. I'm sad that there are only two weeks remaining in my Italy trip. Wednesday will be my birthday, and then this weekend we're traveling to Venice. There is still so much to do and see.

Advertisement



13th June 2011

trip to italy
sounds like you had a great trip! I'll be traveling to Italy in a few months, and I was wondering what kind of italy plug adapter I will need? I'm from the US, so I'm not sure what I need to use my electronics over there. Thanks!
13th June 2011

hey!!!
happy birthday patrick!!!!!
20th June 2011
from Capri

Beautiful!
This picture is breathtaking!!!! Wowee! Glad you are having a good time Patrick :)
26th June 2011

I'm not sure of the technical name of the adapter but it is very specific. It turned out that the adapter/converter I took was the wrong type so I had to borrow a friend's. I recommend just going to best buy or a good electronics store and asking a person which adapter is for Italy. The one for Italy has two small circular prongs. Good luck on your travels! It will be a blast.
26th June 2011

Thanks Mrs. Edall!!!!! I got back yesterday afternoon, it was so much fun!!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb