Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 21st 2010
Published: May 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Fri the 21 our first day off. Doing the homework and preparing to leave tomorrow. We have decided to go early to Florence and put our bags in storage for a couple hrs as our Venice train doesn't leave till 12.30. Had a nice day in Florence yesterday leaving home at 6.30 getting into Florece at 8:00am had time for a nice coffee overlooking the Duomo square. Managed to see two Galleries before lunch time Uffizi (Michelangelo, Di Vinci and Rapheal prolific boyes they were those three. Then Achedemia (David) Skip the line tours are the way to go. ( Note to Bultes ) Over the Ponte Veccho (covvered bridge - only bridge not destroyed in WWII) past the jewellry markets. The antique stuff blowing me away until Grant physically removed me from the scene. Up to the Pitti palace built by one of those Medici woman. She didn;t like the family home downtown cause she couldn't have a garden So over the river and up the hill she went where she dhad a new palace knocked up. In her apartments (original condition) was a great exhibition of costumes including really old and not so old which I really enjoyed and then a quick tour around that garden of hers. She obviously didn't have a problem with man power. I can't think why the gates to the Peonies were locked! Time for a gelato but we made the mistake of buying it right by the bridge and they only haad one size, large of course E6, The next time Grant complains about a $4 Movenpick I'll be reminding him of the $26 Gelato. A quick look around and back to the station at 5o'clock - unfortunately ended up on the slow slow train and didn't get back till 7.30. I can't believe I haven't bought any shoes or a handbag hence why i want to go back tomorrow. I have to work out a cunning plan for Grant cause he doesn't seem to want to split up in case I get lost! Hello Yvonne B yes you'll will have noticed by now we are in the same clothes a lot. One of my earlier nightmares but I'm over it now. It has been a bit chillier than I expected but by the time you get here you should be right. The sun is out know and I expect it will stay. Aman from Perth told us it had been raining in Lucca for 3 weeks and hail. What about the Euro eh! Ashley leaves on Tuesday I feel a bit guilty not being there to see her off we are going to meet her at Green Park station on Wednesday night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



22nd May 2010

Wardrobe
I didn't even notice if they were the same clothes, just whether or not you had sleeves, long trousers, etc. NOW I will be watching for reappearing wardrobe (Don't worry - I'll be in the same boat!)

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb