European on my head!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 14th 2010
Published: May 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


CinqueCinqueCinque

Ok, so maybe I was little harsh describing how great it was. Here I had hiked to an area where many people don't go, and I got to experience more of the local lifestyle.
So apparantly the ominous Iceland volcano cloud has formed over Italy for the last week which explains all of the rain that is spoiling tourist's vacations. Last week was unintentionally dedicated to the quintessential tourist crap that I generally despise, and it has been especially depressing to be around all of the unsatisfied tourists. Since the Cinque Terre is only accessible via train and it isn't tourist season yet, I was expecting there to be five peaceful coastal towns where I could putz around and mingle with the locals. In reality, all five villages were inundated with German and American tourists that are the type of tourists that make you want to vomit. Now, I am also a guilty party of touristry, but most of these people have no respect or regard for the local culture and are constantly worrying about seeing everything, or that they are going miss the three o'clock tour bus to the pizza factory. Don't get me wrong, the Cinque Terra was stunningly beautiful...when there isn't an obese woman in a Mickey Mouse sweater blocking your view.

The next day I went to Pisa to see the famous leaning tower. It was definitely leaning. And it
Genova hostsGenova hostsGenova hosts

I forgot to put their picture up in my last blog.
was pretty cool, but once again I felt like Joe Montana dodging and stiff-arming my way through the crowd. I then moved on to Florence and I was taken with the its charm because I have always preferred sitting and people-watching while drinking coffee or a glass of wine than to visiting monuments and museums. In fact, I found this great restaurant called 'Il Porcospino' (the Porcupine) and had their quattro Formaggio (Four cheese) pizza that was to die for. I have decided that Tuscany can make a much better pizza than Aosta or Liguria. God, I love good pizza.

The next day, I explored Florence a bit more and then caught the bus to Chianti. Some family friends of ours, Jerry and Jeannie Frazell come to Chianti twice a year, and they just happened to be here while I was passing through, so we met up. I have to admit that it was very comforting to see some familiar faces in a sea of unfamiliar ones. They treated me to a fantastic lunch and we drove around the cloud covered countryside of Chianti. And they even invited me to stay the night at their villa! Although it was raining relentlessly, Chianti was a wonderful place with its rolling hills of vineyards. The next day they took me to Siena and treated me to lunch again where I mistakenly ordered tripe because for some reason I always think that tripe is fish and not cow stomach. It wasn't bad, but I don't think that I will making that mistake again. We said our farewells, and I was on my way to Montepulciano and Assisi. Montepulciano turned out to be a drag because the city is 10 Km from the train station, and I wasn't about to walk it in the rain. (Ironically, this was the second time during this trip where something doesn't work out the way I want, and right then my Ipod starts playing 'You can't always get what you want' by the Rolling Stones and it always cheers me up. It has been a very therapeutic song for me) That night I illegally pitched my tent under an unfinished parking garage in order to seek refuge from the rain (I have to say, this rain is starting to get on my nerves). Assisi is a very cool hilltop city with several basilicas and old churches and tons of monks, nuns, and priests all over the place. The only reason I even went to Assisi was because when I got confirmed in the Catholic church, the Saint that I chose to model myself after was St. Francis of Assisi (but the real reason I picked him was because I liked to say Assisi). Anyway, boring details.

I am now at my next wwoofing farm in the Marche region outside of a town called Fabriano and I am completely enamored. The couple I am staying with are named Luigi and Paola, and they have a four year old daughter named Alice who is freaking adorable. They have an Agriturismo that overlooks the entire valley, and Paola makes delicious Italian dinners every night. I get to enjoy all of the luxuries of a semi-resort for just a few hours of work a day. Pretty ideal. In fact it is really kind of unfair.

I have to say, that I am not very happy with this blog. My writing has suffered due to the lack of sunshine. I apologize. hopefully the pictures make up for it. Arrivederci!




Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

more Cinque Terremore Cinque Terre
more Cinque Terre

Like I said, it is very beautiful, but I strategically omitted the tourists
cliff housescliff houses
cliff houses

A lot of these coastal towns have houses built right into the cliffs which is pretty damn cool
meme
me

I sat here for a while as the waves were crashing into the rocks. Quite lovely.
Church and basilicaChurch and basilica
Church and basilica

These are right next to the leaning tower
River in FlorenceRiver in Florence
River in Florence

I loved how the shops are built right on the bridge
Florence towerFlorence tower
Florence tower

Cool tower with the construction crane jutting in from the side
Orchard campingOrchard camping
Orchard camping

This is where I spent the night before meeting up with Jeannie and Jerry. I asked the farmer if I could stay there.
ChiantiChianti
Chianti

Jeannie and Jerry's apartment view in Chianti.


23rd May 2010

Make sure you click on page 2
There are two pages of pictures, so don't miss the second page.
23rd May 2010

The pictures absolulty make up...I love reading these and am so happy you are having such an amazing time. I will hope for sunshine for you :) Love Sam
23rd May 2010

Ooo Awwwe!
Very very cool. I'm so impressed that you're still going strong. It must have been so great to run into family friends!!! I bet they gave you some much needed comfort and energy to keep going and keep up your travels. Wonderful. We miss you and it all looks gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb