Dime a Dozen


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 in Italy and Day 2 in Firenze. I’m all Italianed out when it comes to the food. I’ve had to stop in for a Chinese dumpling at this little restaurant off the Santa Croce Piazza. I came through the back lane entrance where all the Chinese patrons were coming out from and they redirected me to the other restaurant on the main drag, the ritzy joint where they serve shit no doubt. I’ve ordered a wonton soup, spring rolls and hu Nan chicken. So we shall see.

Travelling with Trev has been fun. He’s quite the tourist, armed with his Lonely Planet guide, city maps and enthusiasm to boot; he doesn’t want to miss a sight; He’s off to Pisa today and I needed to rest and take it easy. My nail polish was in dire need to be removed and be repainted, hair needed washing and blow dried and I just love getting ready really really slowly, which are all the things I did. Now I am sitting in this pseudo Chinese restaurant and just finished gobbling down a bad excuse for a spring roll, wonton soup and chicken with black bean, which I thought would be steamed chicken with rice, oh but no, please give me an oil slick for lunch with a side of Western style Asian food. Why is it that Asian food is so dodgy in Europe!? Well at least the tea is normal.

So another day in Italia.. Firenze is gorgeous but a little on the touristy side. This is the land of leather and so with that in mind you will find leather goods everywhere. Leather goods in Firenze are like Tuk Tuks in Bangkok and bad manners in Rome. They're everywhere.

We’re off to Venezia tomorrow, we’ve booked an apartment and I think this key pick up is going to be complicated, so getting there whilst it is light is going to be a must. I’ve got to find myself an internet café now as I need to logon, which is what i have just done.

My money isn't in my travel visa account and on last count I've paid already $150 in currency conversion fees. Ouch....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb