The Lone Geek


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

How I have discovered that I am the only geek in my group:

1) While my roommates and I watch television they channel surf either to MTV or a movie. I always channel surf until I find that Stargate SG-1 is on in italian. Furthermore, I can tell exactly which episode is playing and let my roommates know what is going on if they even care. And yes I watch the same episode yet again, in italian.

2) If I make a movie reference I sometimes have to explain it to my friends. I even had to explain what the movie Tron is *sigh*

3) We went to watch the movie Tropic Thunder yesterday. If you haven't seen it yet I suggest that you do. It was hilarious. Anyway, there was one part where Ben Stiller is by himself in the jungle. It is raining and he is huddled underneath his shelter, watching his Ipod very intently. They show that he is watching the Star Trek episode where Captain Kirk is battling the Gorn and I instantly burst out laughing. I then realised that I was the only one laughing in the theatre and my friends are looking confused.

This is what happens when you are raised by a trekkie. 😉

Advertisement



4th November 2008

You're not alone...
I laughed, too, when Ben Stiller was watching STTOS. :) When you come visit me in China, we'll geek out to our hearts content with all my nerdy friend. Okay?

Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb