EuroChocolate 2008


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Where to begin....Well, the chocolate festival was held in Perugia. They are famous for their chocolate. Upon arriving there we were swept up in the huge sea of people. I can't imagine how many people were there, but it was ridiculously crowded. Our group was given a eurochocolate card to get the freebies at the selected stands and told to have at it. There were stands for all the famous European chocolate companies as well as many of the local chocolate makers. It was so hard not to buy everything I saw, but I did go a little overboard. That chocolate lover that is in every woman's heart took over my better judgement. Maybe that's why I blacked-out and next thing I was walking away from the stand with a big bag 😉 Our tour guide, who was italian, took us to a little hole-in-the-wall place for lunch. I got a really good sandwich with mortadella di chinghale, which turned out to be big pieces of smoked boar meat. At the end of the day I had my very own R.A.G. moment. I was with another girl in our group and we really wanted to sit down. One of the benches was empty, so we got there first and a second later a woman sat down next to us, pushed herself into me and squished us down so that the rest of her family could sit on the bench. I then proceeded to talk to my friend about how I experienced that in lines Italians never waited their turn. I was constantly being pushed back and people were butting in and that in America that would be considered rude. My friend said she felt the same way and that there was no room to be hesitant in Italy. After about two minutes into this conversation, the Italian family stormed away. I just couldn't help myself 😊 So that was my experience at the festival. Let's just say I will think twice before complaining about any of the festivals at home. Most Americans don't push or butt in line. I would definately like to go back to Perugia so I can see it without all the crowds. It was a beautiful little town. And there were trees....I feel like such a hobbit sometimes. "Remember Mr. Frodo, the trees would be changing color about now. And they would be harvesting the apples in the orchards and making cider. Do you remember apple cider Mr. Frodo?" "No Sam, I can't say I do. There's only pasta, pizza, and wine." Ok, I've had my geek out moment. I'd say it's time to end this blog. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Massa Di CacaoMassa Di Cacao
Massa Di Cacao

Italian for....Giant Mass of Chocolate
Chocolate CannonChocolate Cannon
Chocolate Cannon

Have you very own for only 3,000 euros!
What the.....What the.....
What the.....

Yeah I don't know either
Sea of PeopleSea of People
Sea of People

Elbows out everyone!
The Spoils of WarThe Spoils of War
The Spoils of War

Mine all mine!


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb