Five Cities, Two Days, One Free Dinner


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
November 11th 2008
Published: November 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So this past weekend I went on a field trip. We went to Arezzo, Assisi, Urbino, Sansepolcro, and Monterchi. I don't think I've ever been this physically exhausted in my life. Arezzo was pretty. It was the town used to film "Life is Beautiful". We went to churches, chapels, churches, an artists house.....churches. We did get to see an archeological exhibit that one of my professors worked on. It was cool to see him on the video presentation. Then we went to Assisi where Saint Francis started the Franciscan order of monks. The main cathedral was gorgeous. Unfortunately they didn't allow you to take any pictures inside the churches. After that we went to stay at a hotel that used to be a monestary. It was up in the mountains and quite chilly. We got a free dinner that was awesome. My friends and I pigged out after trekking all over creation with the art history teacher who never tires. I think she is secretly the energizer bunny. Art history teacher by day, energizer bunny at night. The next day we went to Gondor-I mean-Urbino. There we climbed to the top of the fortress to tour the ducal palace. It was beautiful, but I think the Duke was overcompensating for something. His symbols and self-proclaimations were everywhere. Every room said "Me me me.....me me me.....ME" I also got to see Raphael's house. Pretty cool, not as grand as the ducal palace, but I think I could settle for it 😉 Then we visited a couple more sites in Sansepolcro and Monterchi....more churches. Then was the long ride home. So now here I am sifting through my 113 pictures taken during the trip to show to you. I definitely want to go back to Assisi when I'm not starving, thirsty, and exhausted. Oh and I wanted to share with you my most favorite Italian word. To express "I don't know" in a comical way, say the word "Bo?" accompanied by a shrug and extreme frown. I think everyone should use this. It makes life just a little bit brighter. 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

AssisiAssisi
Assisi

And the angels singeth and the Lord did grin
The CourtyardThe Courtyard
The Courtyard

Those are my friends Sarah, Katie, and Jennifer
Ok thenOk then
Ok then

Around the courtyard are listed the Duke's virtues. Apparently "Sexies" is one of them ;)


12th November 2008

Name That Thing!
Just wondering if you have come across one of these? And the Lord spake, saying, "First shalt thou take out the Holy Pin. Then shalt thou count to three, no more, no less. Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out. Once the number three, being the third number, be reached, then lobbest thou thy Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch towards thy foe, who, being naughty in my sight, shall snuff it.
12th November 2008

Amen
That first picture of Assisi is beautiful! Good shot! Did you get to see the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch?

Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb