my first evening in Iran


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Few weeks ago, at the menza (the student’s restaurant in our building):

Eran: (one of the other 2 Israelis in my class) “I think that she is from Israel”
Me: “maybe” (as you know, I am open to every one, from all over the world, when it comes to Israelis - I have to explain them that the fact that we are carrying the same passports, doesn’t say that we are instantly best friends…

Few days ago:
Eran; “I am sure that she is from Israel”
Me: “maybe” - well, she has the Israeli look BUT - - - maybe she’s Spanish….

3 Evenings ago:

Eran (and a little too much alcohol): “can I ask you something?”
She (and other 4 guys standing and smiling): “yes”
Eran: “Where are you from?”
She: “Iran. Teheran”

Eran + Merav: BIG SMILE!!!!

The weird thing is that they started apologizing, immediately: ‘we are sorry for our government’s action, we are very sorry….”
She asked us if it’s a problem for us, we said (shocked with the question): NO! Apparently there is an Israeli student that ignores her, won’t even greet her… I have no Idea who is this student but I do hope she has a good excuse (how can someone excuse being stupid?)
For both of us it was very strange; why do they have to apologies to us, we tried telling them - its not our problem, we are only the people, we are not to be held responsible to our government’s actions, that the fact that they are here tells a lot about them…..

At the end, all of us were pleased an then they said: “Shabat Shalom” (=peaceful Saturday. Its the Hebrew greeting on weekends - before Saturday).

Again, I was a little shocked and they went away. I do hope that I could get to know them for real, as individual and not the “Iranians”.

The only “Iranian” “guy” I have ever met was in Nairobi. A 60++ years old guy that introduced himself as Iranian, we were all excited until he told us that he is living in Germany for the last 45 years. We never spoke with him again... Germans are not that rear…

Yesterday they have invited us for “after dinner” tea….

Now, when you hear “Iranian” what do you think?
We all think: dark, covered in black clothes, religious, keeps mumbling prayers and carrying a bomb in one hand and a can of oil in the other. No?

What we have found, when we entered the room was: they have turned a dormitories room into a home - the table is covered, they have photos on the wall, plants by the window etc… they made all of us tea (they have at least 5 glasses, I have one coffee mug in my room), and offered some great dates and pistachios from Iran. (all I can offer my guests is salad and canned tuna). I was happy!!!! And that was only the beginning of the evening, we found 2 funny and cynical guys; they told us about life in Iran in a very cynical way, they told us jokes about their government, we spoke about censorship, culture, the past, how they see their country and their future…
Well, they told us that the young generation is not interested in democracy or politics.

Yes, I can see you all smiling, thinking - it’s the same in my country too….

No one could ever blame me for being an optimistic, or so I thought until I met them. I am confident (sure?) that in 20 years the situation in Iran would improve. They are hoping that it would change in 200 years…
I have a lot to tell you about this evening, I have learned so much and yet I know nothing. One example was:
Amir (one of the guys) told us a story abut a very old mulla (a religious leader, a Muslim priest) that took a bus but no one gave him a seat, he could hardly stand and asked - can someone give me his seat, one of the women said - we gave u our country wasn’t it enough? Valerie (another class mate) and Eran speaks Spanish so they told us that mulla in Spanish is donkey. Amir said immediately: “now I understand… both brains functions exactly the same!!”
And I can’t tell you about the visit to the synagogue story - I still can’t stop laughing…

We had a very interesting and funny evening, I never thought I would get to sit like that with guys from Iran, and hear, freely and from first hand, how it is there… how they see and feel things…
When I got to know them a little better and heard how openly they talk about everything, how worried they are about Iran, how simple and direct is their criticism about the relations between Italy and Iran, all I can do is hope that this evening was the first in our friendship.

And believe me, I didn’t see any bombs. Or oil cans…



Advertisement



8th March 2008

Stupid people don't use excuses
Great story! When I was in Italy we also made friends with one Iranian-Italian girl. She invited us for dinner at her house, her 20+ cousin was there and he was so excited, he told us it's the first time he meets real Israelis and he's very happy to see we don't have horns - that's what he was told in school... Have fun being all intercultural, I miss you here...

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb