Pisa, Lucca and the weekend


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 30th 2008
Published: January 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

cathedral in Pisa
This weekend flew by, and yet, it is almost here again! To recap: on Saturday, a small group of us took a day trip to Pisa (as in the leaning tower of) and Lucca, which is a smallish town a few minutes outside Pisa. We also visited an olive oil and wine vineyard. First things first: Pisa is exactly how it seems in postcards and pictures. We had perfect weather and clear blue skies to examine the tower in full detail. Most people don't know that there is also a cathedral and baptistery in the same area which were even more amazing than the tower. The dome of the baptistery lends to excellent booming acoustics and individual people called singers come in once an hour and cry out, but in harmony and its incredible....though hard to describe. I guess just one of those things you have to experience. After the tour of Pisa, we went by the most terrifying bus ride ever to an olive oil producing vineyard. These were the skinniest, curviest cliff hugging roads and we were in a 40 passenger bus clinging to the gravel roads for our lives. When we finally arrived, we took a tour of
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

cathedral and bapristery
the production facilities, and then had a "light" Tuscan lunch. By light, I mean they just served smaller portions of the same 5 courses, just like dinner. We had prosciutto, veggie risotto, sweet rolls, salad, other kinds of mystery meat, grilled veggies, and of course wine and their signature EVOO. Everyone was completely stuffed and couldn't imagine a full regular dinner! The view from the vineyard was one I will never forget, and hope to return to one day....breathtaking. After our lunch, we finally made our way to Lucca and toured a couple of churches and cathedrals. While I appreciate the history and learning all about the architecture, after a while, you get a little burnt out. What revived us was seeing a decomposing body revered by many as the Saint of the particular church (I had lost track of which one by this point). She was laying in a glass coffin on display and while I'm really glad I saw it, that has to be one of the most vile things I've ever seen. Seriously creepy. Lucca was really packed for Carnevale (carnival) and there tons of adults and children running around in costumes and masks. I wish we
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

leaning tower.
had had more time to explore, but we had to return to Florence, and I, for one, was exhausted and ready for home. We kept it pretty low key for the rest of the weekend, and got ready for the week. This weekend we are planning to go to ROMA! I am really excited to see all the touristy sights, and also find my own way through the city!
On more boring news, I have been sick and actually lost my voice yesterday and am croakie today. I do feel a little bit better today, and I think its because I was in bed last night at 8:30 pm. I guess 13 hours of sleep will do that to you. My roomates are still doing really well, and we are all miraculously still getting along fairly well. We are starting to cook and experiment with Italian ingredients we find in our local market. I have also found my new favorite cookie, and will definitely sneak some back home in April. All the excellent food and cookies will probably combat walking miles a day, especially when I have Italian class and have to climb 5 flights of stairs!
As usual, Italy continues to blow my mind and I wish everyone could come to visit me and see it with their own eyes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

baptistery
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

ceiling
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

ceiling
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

view from the vineyard
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

inside wall painting
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

the saint in her glass coffin


31st January 2008

Saint??
Just how long has that saint been in that box? Pretty creepy, I'll admit!! But the rest of the area looks beautiful. Wish you would bring me some of that fabulous EVOO!! Can't wait to see Rome! xoxoxoxo
4th February 2008

Wow, gorgeous!
Hi Mo! Your photos from the vineyard are spectacular!!! So beautiful! I wish I could have a "light lunch" like you had, damn. I wish I could come visit you. Love!

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb