PARIS!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 23rd 2008
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last Thursday me, my roomate Rachael and 4 other girls took an overnight train to PARIS!! This was my first time in France and I was absolutely blown away. We first got off the train at 9:15 Friday morning, quickly persuaded the hotel manager to let us into our rooms early, and hit the streets. Our first stop was the Notre Dame cathedral, which still had a Christmas tree out front (loved that, of course)! The stained glass windows are amazingly gorgeous and so bright and colorful, not to mention huge! Lots of people come just to pray and hear mass, but there were many other people that came just to look around and take pictures, like me. After a delicious lunch, croque madame , french fries and a much needed coffee, we headed to the Louvre, where we spent the rest of the afternoon. In the Louvre we saw the standards: Mona Lisa, Venus de Milo, Winged Victory etc along with a million other statues, figures, and paintings. That was definitely the most overwhelming place we went, and only were able to see about half of the museum because there is sooo much to see! One of my favorite views was walking out of the Louvre after the sun had set to see the main pyramid lit up and in the distance, the Eiffel Tower sparkling and the giant ferris wheel bright and running. It was incredible. The next day we toured the Musee de Picasso and saw lots of his famous, and less famous work...good post cards there. Much of our day was spent at the Centre Pompidou, which has lots of modern crazy art and architecture. The building itself was really cool and I think all the plumbing was on the outside. Our next stop was Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe. The Arc looked just like all of the pictures I've seen and it was beautiful, though it took us forever to reach it because that has to be the longest street in the world. From there we headed to the Eiffel Tower. To see it up close is unbelievable and it literally took my breath away, and pictures can not do it justice. That night we had a big dinner (tarragon chicken, yummy fries, french onion soup, chocolate mousse, bottles of awesome wine) began our trek back to the hotel. 2 HOURS LATER we finally made it back with blistered feet and exhausted bodies and passed out the second I hit the pillow. On Sunday, we went to the Musee d'Orsay and saw beautiful impressionist paintings like Van Gogh, Monet, Manet. That was my favorite museum, and I loved every room, and every painting. We spent the rest of our time at the Eiffel Tower eating crepes and people watching until our train came. It was absolutely amazing and I wouldnt change anything about the trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

notre dame


23rd January 2008

Memories of Paris
Hi Morgan, When I read your blog I recalled my trip to Paris. I was surprised that the Mona Lisa was not a larger painting and I thought that the Eiffel Tower at night was spectacular. I printed your Paris entry and am going to walk to your Nennie and Poo's condo to deliver it to them. Much love, Louise, Jim and Happy
25th January 2008

beautiful pictures
Great photos! Sounds like a great trip. Enjoy. I know a lot of people have seen the blogs. Take care.
28th January 2008

You took a picture of the Mona Lisa?! I'm pretty sure that's against the rules. Shame on you.
4th February 2008

Bonjour, maidmoiselle!
Reading this entry made me want to jet-set to Paris so badly! I also found the Louvre overwhelming and the Musee D'Orsay delightful! I was in D.C. yesterday for class, and the museums there don't even compare to the ones in Paris. It sounds like you had a fabulous time- minus the sore sore feet :) What's a little pain to see so much beauty? I love you, Mo! I hope you had fun in Roma this weekend, and I'll talk to you soon! -Linds

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb