Jewelry is a girl's best friend :)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The view of Florence from my campsite was stunning. The river flowed beneath the campground and Ponte Vecchio and the Duomo could be seen in the background. It was a lovely site. The campground itself, not so great, but the view made up for it. Ponte Vecchio is also known as the Golden Bridge; there are only jewelry shops on this bridge selling beautiful jewelry set in gold. It’s the oldest and most famous bridge in Florence. Built in 1345, it was the only bridge to survive the German invasion during World War II. Some of the jewelry sold in these shops is astounding. I think you'd have to walk around with a bodyguard if you bought some of these pieces! I can't even bear to look at the prices - but window shopping is always fun 😊

Like the rest of Europe, there is no shortage of churches in Florence. Ornate doorways and altars can be seen on practically every turn. I'm not really religious but I'm still amazed by the beauty of these churches.

Now you may be asking why there are no pictures of the most famous statue of all - David. I had seen the statue several years ago on my first trip to Italy so I didn’t need to see it again. It is magnificent, though. The detailed craftsmanship is astounding and to think it was made out of one piece of marble with a tiny tool - absolutely amazing!

I'm off to Paris for a few days. It'll be nice to be out of Italy for awhile. Italy is beautiful but it is so hot! I know, either I'm too cold or too hot. I just need some moderate temperature for a few days 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



3rd September 2007

sugar dadddy
helllloo...i figured that i would catch up by starting with commenting on the new ones that you are sending...sooo im surprised you havent found yourself an interesting character (and you know what i mean by interesting character a la my comment title) in Florence to buy you some of those finnnne expensive pieces of jewelryy!!! You are slackkinn on your gammmee!! lol JK...maybe its a good thing...ok well theres one comment...WOOOHOO...that wasnt so bad.. =)

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb