A Day In Rome- Blog #8


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 23rd 2018
Published: January 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

This weekend I went to Rome to see the beauties of this city. I honestly was not sure what expect from Rome but I was very excited to venture out to another city. We got up super early to catch the fast train there, it took about an hour and a half. Once there we walked to the hotel, checked in, and then head off to the Vatican Museums. It did not take us long to walk to the Vatican, but before we went in to take our tour we got lunch. There was this diner we stop in front of that had a combination of gelato, sandwiches, pizza, coffee, and pastries. It was super crowded and kind of confusing for me because I could not figure out where to go to get a gelato. Turns out the the gelato part was outside of the diner. So you would get the gelato outside and then go back inside to pay for the gelato instead of paying for it right then and there. When I went to pay for the gelato with my card the lady tells me cash only. Of course I am thinking no big deal it is only three euros I have some change I could pay in but it was not enough. Tori ended up helping me out by giving me a two euro coin to help pay for my gelato and I got the rest with my little change. Here is the funny but also annoying part I handed the lady 3,10 euros and the lady did not give me my change. So when I was still standing there waiting for my change and told her she owes me 0.10 euros, she got an attitude with me. I know your thinking 0.10 euros what is the big deal, but that 0.10 was definitely going back to Tori since she helped me out, and obviously it is my money. So yeah GIVE ME MY CHANGE WOMAN! Moral of the story is always keep some sort of cash on you at all times, be aware of how much you are giving the cashier, and how much they are giving back.

After we all got something to eat we went into the Vatican, which was a beautiful site to see. It was literally a work of art all throughout the Vatican. It was a little overwhelming because of how many people were there and how some of the group got lost within the crowd. What caught my attention the most was the maps that were created in different periods. As you look at the different maps you see the progression of land between each city. I thought that was pretty cool to see that the the historical buildings and monuments that was built then is still standing here today. To compare Firenze and Roma I felt like Firenze is a little more tourist friendly than Roma. I just felt like there were too many experiences of rudeness in Rome. To think that people in Florence is rude is an exaggeration to be completely honest. Another thing I notice about Rome is that it was a little bit pricey in my opinion but hey it was not like we were not warned before hand. My issue was I kept trying to transfer money into my account so I would have enough for this small trip but I could not do it over my phone. Luckily, we were only staying for a day so I was able to survive until we got back to Florence. I really appreciate Tori, DaMonec, Brigid, and even Shelby for trying to help me out on this trip. I have a pride issue on relying on people because I just want to prove to my mom and most importantly myself that I can be independent. Being on this small trip has taught me that it is okay to ask for help and that I should not to beat myself up about it. The Colosseum was so beautiful and so amazing to me. I honestly could not believe that I actually got to witness this beautiful place with my own eyes. Elizabeth, our tour guide, did such an amazing job with explaining what the Colosseum was for. To go inside and see that the center and how everything was set up has my mind so blown. With no technology or anything to help to make these beautiful huge structures is absolutely amazing.

Today I walked a total 9014 steps, yesterday January 22, 2018 I walked a total of 10,920, Sunday January 21, 2018 I walked a total of 20,137, Saturday January 20, 2018 I walked a total of 22,485 steps, and Friday January 19, 2018 I walked a total of 18,033 steps.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb