Italia Experience- Blog #9


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Richmond
February 4th 2018
Published: February 4th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Being in Italy was a overall learning experience for me. There was a lot of things I did not know prior to the trip about Italy that I learned while being there. I honestly blame myself because all of the cultural differences that cause a little frustration could have been avoided. First thing I learned about myself is that I am not too much of a go with the flow kind of girl like I thought I was. The trip was organized and scheduled down to the last day that we were there in Italy but at the same time it wasn't. However, there was nothing we can do about it because it was simply out of our control. It would frustrate me because I would have my mind set on doing what was schedule for the day because that is just how I function. Which I just realized while being on this trip, I would have never guess that I am a structural person. Back home when I am with my friends and we can not decide on what to do I always say I am down for anything. Pretty much putting the decision making on someone else so I do not have to choose a spot no one likes possibly. For some reason that personality that I have disappeared while I was there in Italy. I did not want to talk to anyone about it because I did not want to ruin the trip for those around me. I also did not want to sound like a debby downer as well. Another thing I learned about myself is that I do not think I like traveling in a big group like we did. Which is crazy to me because I love being around people but I guess not to that extent. I did not have any issues with anyone on the trip but at a point when we were in Italy I just wanted to be alone and do my own thing away from the group. Understanding now that I think about it I am always alone back home. I am not on anyone's time but mine, I can do anything that I please and it just all makes sense now why I was feeling that way. My lifestyle in Richmond, I was trying to bring with me, and I should have left it there.



Being around the group of girls made me realize that we are all different in some sort of way. When I would overhear some of the girls complaining about some things I would always ask DaMonec sarcastically. "What did these girls expect to do when we got over here, nothing?" It just goes to show that not everyone was raised the same. There would be times where I felt like right now is not the time to be doing that. I strongly believe in the phrase, there is a time and place for everything. I am not going to sit here and pretend like I did not complain because I did. I just went about it differently and respectfully than some of the girls that were doing it openly. I may not agreed with how it was being done but it goes to show that we are all different and we handle situations differently as well. Nonetheless, most of the girls that I was surrounded by were super friendly and sweet to me. There were times I did not have enough cash and they helped me pay for whatever I was getting. It was a really nice gesture and I could not be anymore thankful than I am till this day. With the bonds that I created with some of the girls I was hoping to keep it when got back home to the states. This trip has definitely shaped me to better prepare for any future trips that I go on. Especially with the culture knowledge because I went to Italy obviously thinking that things would be the same as America. Technically that is not the case majority time.



I do want to travel again, actually, that is all I want to do right now is just travel the world. It would just be so amazing to see the world through my eyes instead of a computer screen. If I were to give a student advice on going on a study abroad trip it would be to do your research on that place you're going to before your departure date. The more knowledge you have on a place that you have never been too before the easier it is to get adjusted there. This trip to Italy with the group I went with and our awesome chaperones that I give a million thank yous too, I do not regret. I honestly would do it all over again because the positives definitely outweighs the negatives. If I did this trip on my own I would not have done half the things we did with the group. So I am very appreciative and grateful I got this opportunity because everything I know now I can use to help me prepare for the future. Next stop London!



January 24, 2018 I walked 14,924 steps, January 25, 2018 I walked 17,756 steps, January 26, 2018 I walked 9,101 steps, January 27, 2018 I walked 342 steps, January 28, 2018 I walked 1885 steps, January 29, 2018 I walked 2,505 steps, January 30, 2018 I walked 4,263 steps, January 31, 2018 I walked 2,620 steps, February 1, 2018 I walked 6,163 steps, February 2, 2018 I walked 848 steps, February 3, 2018 I walked 1756 steps, February 4, 2018 I walked 1,137 steps.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb