Florence Through My Eyes- Blog #7


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 18th 2018
Published: January 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

The things that I have witness with my own eyes on this trip has been life changing. It has been almost two weeks and I feel like I have seen everything. It is so crazy because I know that this is basically considered a course but I still feel like I am on vacation! I only think this because of all the museums we have been too, site seeing of Florence, Bologna, and Siena. Climbing the Duomo, seeing a ballet performance for the first time on the story of Cinderalla, the fashion show and many more! You would agree with me because if you were to go on a vacation back home in the states you are not just going to sit in the hotel all day. No! You are going to get out and explore the whole the city and what beautiful things it has to offer you. The ballet on the story of Cinderella sparked an emotion that reminded me of childhood. I watched it so much as a child that I was literally able to keep up with the story line of the show. The part that I almost got confused with but literally figured it out within seconds was when they were traveling all around the world looking for cinderella. The show was beautiful and I am glad I got to experience this here on the trip. Today after class I climb the Duomo that is about 500 steps to get to the top. At first my feelings towards this was very exciting. Inside I was screaming yeah bring it on before I actually step foot into this historical building. Oh my goodness five minutes in to climbing the Duomo I was gasping for air at the same time trying to snap pictures. At that moment my excitement diminish until we got to the top of the Duomo to seeing the most beautiful view of the city. The view at the top of the Duomo just made me so happy. I never been so proud of myself for accomplishing this challenge that lasted probably 30 minutes to an hour. I almost forgot to mention seeing the beautiful sculpture yesterday of David, that to me was absolutely life changing. Our tour guide Elizabeth does such an amazing job with informing us about all these famous artist because she is passionate about what she does. I can hear the passion in her voice and I love it; learning about Michelangelo was just inspiring to me. It lets you know that hard work really does pay off.

I have not done too much observing of Italian families while being here because I have not seen too many of them. I also just did not think to observe Italian families and their behaviors while being here either. I do not think I have seen to many because we as a group are always on the move so I feel like I never have time. The families I have notice were the ones around in the Repubblica area with their children. I think they were over there to just to ride the carousel and shop.Then of course other times have been as I was walking through Florence with my friends or with the group. That was the only time I would see families out and about with their children and it honestly seems like there is not that many Italian families. I am convinced that they are dwindling away because no one is having as many kids anymore. It is really sad to think about because you do not want a whole race of people to die out just because no one wants to have kids. In the same sense you do not want people having kids and not being able to care for them. I honestly would love to have a family here and to build an empire that I have always dreamed of doing. But then reality hits and it just makes you think of all the pros and cons that comes with living here. Then you start to question yourself about it being worth it or is there another way I can go about doing this. I really want to live out of the states for a year just to see if I could do it all on my own. Then make the decision on living for the rest of my life there and building a family because I want that as well. Another thing I was thinking of is starting my family in the states then moving out the country but doing it while child is still practically a baby. There is just so many possibilities and I just want to make it happen!

Today I walked a total of 9,623 steps, and yesterday January 17, 2018 I walked a total 8,435 steps.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb