Rainy days in Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Trentino Alto Adige » Merano
September 15th 2006
Published: September 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

AHHHHAHHHHAHHHH

Yes, there are scorpions here...this is one of them! You can´t kill them because more will come. So you just have to scoop them out the door!
Hello all! What a week it has been . I am sorry that I do not write on this as often as I had planned but it is a hike to get to a computer! What a week it has been! Sunday we had Tea with Mary. She is an unbelievable person. She is so smart. I do think it would be hard to teach a class on your father. Maybe I should look into that.....haha.

Monday classes started and it has been a good time. We have Mary´s Pound class at 11am monday, wednesday and thursday. We are reading the Cantos and are memorizing Dante in Italian. She told us "you all can read Italian, you just must admit it to yourselves!"

We meet Sizzo in the afternoon, depending on when it is best for him. The agro archaeolgy class is very interesting. This family is very interested in the root of words. Where words that we constantly use come from! So I am learning about words and stuff...haha. We are reading the History of an American Boy, The Odyssey and The Song of Roland. The Song of Roland is for Saints and Heroes. For that class we HIKED up to the other castle, that is behind the one I live in! It is called Schloß Triol. (just so you know that ß is pronounced ´ss´) There is a whole lot of really cool architecture there. It is very neat. I am excited about learning about the castle and the history and the Romans and what not.

Well lets see...i went group grocery shopping on Monday with Briggite. It was quite an adventure in a German grocery store. But it was fun. It is amazing how much food you can get for the kind of price. We fed 11 people 4 meals for 80 euro. I though that was pretty good. Good meals too. We had fetuccine Alfredo Monday, stuffed peppers Tuesday, Bruchetta on Wedneday and we are having meatloaf on Sunday.

I just have to say that the keyboard is different here and it is very hard to type because the z and the y are swapped!

Anyway...we had to switch workdays this weekd and worked on thursday. From 9am until 12 we weeded the vines. That was very cool and therapeutic. After lunch until 5 we harvested chardonay grapes. It is a hard
The CroftThe CroftThe Croft

This is the outside of where we live! It is a lovely place!
job, but it is very fulfilling when you get it accomplished!

As far as this weekend, we all went out last night and had quite a good time. Everyone relaxed this afternoon and we watched Star Wars. lol. We had plans on going to the beach, but a rainy rainy cloud has engulfed Europe apparently. There were reports of Derailed Trains and Rain in Cinque Terra so we decided to try it next weekend.

The weather has gotten colder,especially now that there is rain. It is nice though. Not COlD but just an autumn chill up where we are in the top. the squirrels are still in my wall. I think it is those crazy squirrels from lucia!! They have become a joke now. Everybody thinks it is funny to scratch on the walls now.hahaha...

Not sure what the rest of the weekend holds. I have to do something that they call in the STates....HOMEWORK. AHHH....I forgot I just wasn´t here to eat grapes and live in a castle. That is probably what we all do since the weather is gross.

Everybody is gettin along pretty good. Continue to say prayers for me!! I miss everybody.
A viewA viewA view

What a view! This is looking outside out kitchen down to Merano!
Hopefully soon I will have a phone card and can communicate with my voice!!! Send me mail...everybody gets letters and I want a real one too!!!

I love you all!! I´m going to attempt and put some pics up on this blog. It is difficult because everything is in German, so I kind of just have to guess. It should be interesting. I miss everybody and ca´t wait to hear from you!!

ALL My LOVE!!!

Gruss Gott!

sally


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

CastleCastle
Castle

Just a little castle action! I don´t have a good pic of the castle yet, but do not worry I will!
TraditonTraditon
Traditon

This is written above all the doors in the Dorf. It is a religious thing...it happens at Christmas and you cant erase it all year. It is a symbol for the 3 wise men and it is supposed to protect you and give you luck for the upcoming year!
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

This is our kitchen and where we eat our meals that we cook!
Guard DogGuard Dog
Guard Dog

This is our Guard Dog! He looks like a wolf but is SO sweet! I love him! Do you think he would understand Fuzzy since she speaks English?? hmmm....
Going out...Going out...
Going out...

My first night going to a club in foreign country. The wine bottle was just a prop!!.....lol


30th September 2006

ohh Sallly, I miss you buddy!!!!!! Love you and be safe!

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb