What I do when there is no wireless....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

These are just a few entries from when I did not have wireless. Just keeping you updated! Trust me, there won't be this much again. Enjoy!

30/1/08

Wireless still is not working. I am bummed that I don’t get to talk to you guys. I decided that I would just write a blog anyway and post it when the internet works. Last night, Marco took me out. We went with Jessica and her sister. We met many friends and had tons of fun. We went to a pub (don’t worry mom, its common here) and just hung out with friends. It was hard to communicate, but they LOVED my Italian dictionary and used it every chance they could get. We came home and I gave my family the presents I had brought. The boys loved the UNC shirts I brought them (thanks Ben) and berts bees. Marcos exact words, “Tingly?” Damiano loved the sugar cookies and taffy also. I brought NC cards and taught Damiano how to play war! He’s hilarious. The parents then gave me a cell phone. I tried to pay them, but they wouldn’t accept. I went to bed around 1 or so because I start school this morning. I am writing this at 6 AM, because I cannot sleep. I guess I am anxious for school today.

31/1/08

Alright! I went to school today! People are SO nice! Jessica and I are like the stars of Niscemi. It’s so fun. Not to mention cute guys! We registered for classes, we still don’t understand what were taking though. I know im in a science school. I am taking chemistry, math, English, Italian, and French. I want to take history but they want me to take art history! I kept saying no. How boring! Jessica and I met a girl named Meri. She is from Finland and is so sweet. She speaks very good English and Italian and has been here for 4 months. She showed us around and helped up communicate with everyone. She took us to the computer lab and we got to get on the computer, because there is no wireless here. I was on for 2 minutes and then we had to go somewhere. So hopefully tomorrow! Jessica had to go so I went to class with Meri. She was going to an English class. I introduced myself and talked about myself a little. They understood but could not stop laughing. I can’t be embarrassed, I am American and it is going to happen. So I shook it off and laughed also. Rosanna picked me up and we all had lunch at home. Meat and potatoes! Then Rosanna went to work and Antonio is out getting me stamps right now. We had a long talk and I think I am actually beginning to understand Italian. It will take awhile but I am going to try hard. He is such a nice dad to Marco and Damiano. Marco is on the telephone and Damiano is coming home to watch Harry Potter with me. We talked for a while and he really wants me to see Harry Potter in Italian. Tonight, I am learning Karate from Jim (uncle) and then going out with Marco, Kara, e Jessica. I start actual classes tomorrow. Saturday, I am going to the Disco and playing soccer in the day with Damiano and his friends, Sunday we are going to the famous carnival in Catania, and Monday we are taking a bus to Mount Etna with Marcos friends. There is no school because of a holiday. Not really sure what we do there. He says just play in the snow? No idea! I bet it will be fun though. Jessica is not coming, so I’ll be alone in the English department! Haha!

2/2/08
Last night, I went out with Marco’s friends. They are so nice, I really am making some friends here and it’s a good thing. I can’t depend on Marco for everything. Today, I started school. I didn’t go to all my classes. I went to 2 and some random ones. I went to an English class and had to introduce myself and ask all the kids questions in Italian. I was not prepared for that. I just said, “Come ti chiami (what is your name), Come Stai (how are you), Ti piache (what do you like to do) etc. Then they had to ask me questions in English. They loved it, I got asked to go to the piazza (town square) several times by kids of all ages. They think it’s so interesting that I am from America. The English teacher actually said that she loved Americans. She said we were all caring and loving. She started describing the history to me of liberation day for Italy, and how wonderful it was that we set them free. Anyways, I went to a math class. AH, I had the hardest time. It’s my math class, I am in it with Jessica, which is lucky. It’s nothing like what we do in America. Well no, I guess its similar but its so different at the same time. I could not concentrate because I was so tired. They don’t go to bed till 12-1 and wake up at 7. School starts at 8:30 and depending on the classes you take, you get out at different times. Marco gets out at 11:30 or 12:30 and I get out 1 or 2:30. It changes on a daily basis. I cannot keep it straight. Today, I got so frustrated. I am now starting to realize it’s not all fun, I have to actually study.

2/5/08
Sorry for the long blogs. Trust me, they won’t be this frequent and long. I just have had no wireless and needed some way to communicate. Anyways, so much has been going on its crazy. I have had no time to sleep and I am tired, but it’s okay. I’m living in Italy, I need to experience everything. Today there is no school because of the annual Carnival. Achearale! I went on Saturday with Jessica, Meri, and Mari. It was fun! I’m glad I have today to catch up on some emails and I am trying to get on facebook. Sorry you guys, I will eventually write you back. Facebook just does not connect well. It is probably better to email me. maggiekanenc@gmail.com Anyways, I was supposed to have my first Italian lesson today, but my tutor canceled. Lets see what else has been going on.
Just a couple quick things....
The food, wow the food, is amazing let me say. But, there is SO much. I can’t eat half of it. And my host mom is always telling me to eat. MANGARE MANGARE! I just can’t. I drink a lot of coffee here too. It is not like Italian coffee. It is an expresso or shot of instant caffeine, which I need. They also drink a lot of coke, and I am getting used to it. The fruit! AH the fruit is freaking amazing. It is so fresh and there is always tons of it. Alright, I’ll write more later!

I love you guys! CIAO!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb