Saved by an old lady


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Pozzallo
July 18th 2010
Published: July 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Saturday evening I arrived in Pozzallo. 250 km from Palermo, 12 hours incl 6 hours waiting at empty stations and 4 trains.
Pozzallo station is small, empty and far from the village. I asked an old lady who arrived also by train if she knew my hotel Villa Margherita. She did not. If there were any taxis .Not at the station.
Than she said something about machina and invited me in her old,dirty car. The lady only slightly older than her car started driving.Did not find it.
Went to a travelagency who knew but was unable to get an taxi.Too late its already 8,30 pm.The lady wanted to bring me and on directions of the agency girl we did find it.
The charm of an old man or the goodness of an even older lady?

In Messina I took a walk in the morning to look around. Nice city. Took a haircut for washing and cutting euro 12,00 even 1 euro cheaper than at home with my Syrian barber.

Went by train about 4 o clock to Palermo where I arrived 8.30 pm. Found my way walking Via Roma somewhere on the left side in a terrible street.At the end was hotel Sicilia. 2 full stars. It was an hotel in a big building. 3stairs up.Ringing.3 locks opened, let me in, 3 locks closed and after taking my passport for the administrative things they have to do, no country so strict as Italy, brought to my room.
Wow the cheapest hotel on my tour euro 35.00 was also untill now the smallest room. Guess around 8 square metre.

Next day I met at breakfast a dutch couple who was travelling for 3 weeks around Sicily with their 10 years old son. Took the train of 8.38 and ended in the end in Pozzallo.

Sicily is a beautifull island with lots of mountains and agriculture. The last seems unbelievable for its very dry. The grapes are growing high up to 1 metre and are all covered with kind of clothes probably to prtect agains the sun.
Big areas after the crop being burnt black and waiting for the preparations for the next season.

Met at Gela a young couple who was touring by train and bus the island for a few weeks and had their tent with them and had found until now enough campings on good places.

Waiting now for the evening ferry to Malta

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb