Long lost family!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Palermo
April 16th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

wowwowwow

An amazing view into my heritage.
I thought I was going on this trip to find my roots, but on the way I happened to find one of the most beautiful places in the World. I knew off the bat that this trip would be a bit different while I was boarding my Alitalia flight from Rome to Sicily. I realized that I was the only foreigner/traveler on the whole plane. I started chatting with the guy next to me and he told me that everyone on the plane were pretty much business men coming home to Sicily for the weekend. So then it seemed apparent that Sicily was definitely off the beaten track compare to the region from the knee cap up ( Rome and above). Upon landing the outline of cliffs shocked me a bit. I landed and found some place to stay in Palermo. I called up Joey and Tom to set up a meeting time the next day; little did I know that my entire vacation would be spent with them, which made it so much better from food to sightseeing. The first day I hung out with Joey. He showed me Carini, the city where my great grandmother grew up. It was
Teatro MassimoTeatro MassimoTeatro Massimo

One of the city's landmark theaters located near the center of town.
a beautiful town with an impressive church, views of the sea, and a castle between the two of them. I later met his wife and his son Gabrielle. They were so welcoming. Joey was telling me how weird it is for Gabrielle to hear him speaking English, which was obvious after he ran into his room and began saying words from his English book. The next two days I hung out with Tom and his family which included his hospitable wife and three children, Gisepee, Valeria, and Marco. They took me around to different places outside of Palermo, including this church that was entirely made of mosaic on the interior. It was definitely something to see. We also had lunch in the mountains and visited their summer house. The food was amazing, but it also made me realize how three generations away from Sicily did not change much when food is taken into account. I loved Sicily and will hopefully bring my family back in a few years. O yeah let me tell you the most disgusting part of Sicily. There is this crypt that has 8,000 dead people hanging on the walls. Now its from hundreds of years ago,
CariniCariniCarini

The castle in my great grandmother's town.
so some are just skeleton, some have skin still on them or facial hair. I don’t know how the religious order preserved them like that but it was freaky and almost vomit inducing, which wasn’t a good combination with all the food I ate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Carini CastleCarini Castle
Carini Castle

A fresco from the castle.
wowwow
wow

Another awe inspiring view from Carini
Hitting the streets with JoeHitting the streets with Joe
Hitting the streets with Joe

Being shown around Carini by my relative. What an amazing place!
LoungingLounging
Lounging

Lounging around in one of Palermo's beautiful parks near the sea.
Walking the parkWalking the park
Walking the park

Some facades of interest.
Topography lessonTopography lesson
Topography lesson

Walking on the portside.
Sicilian CharmSicilian Charm
Sicilian Charm

Palms, Beach, Mountains...what else can you ask for?
Arab RuinsArab Ruins
Arab Ruins

Some Arabic ruins. This influence makes Sicilian culture a lot different than mainland Italy.
The FamThe Fam
The Fam

Just finished eating at this amazing restaurant up in the mountains overlooking Palermo.
Me and GisepeeMe and Gisepee
Me and Gisepee

Pulled over from the road to check out the view.
Me and GisepeeMe and Gisepee
Me and Gisepee

This church, in a neighboring town, was completely made of mosaic internally. How crazy!
CatedralCatedral
Catedral

Up the street north.
Catedral 2Catedral 2
Catedral 2

Up the street north.
Plazas are nicePlazas are nice
Plazas are nice

Yeah yeah, i know, italian plazas, like american junk food
At the summer houseAt the summer house
At the summer house

Wow. The views were spectacular
Gelato, Sicilian StyleGelato, Sicilian Style
Gelato, Sicilian Style

A real icecream sandwich!!! Inside a hot brioche.


16th April 2006

Ciao
YOUR BLOG WAS WONDERFUL, ESPECIALLY THE DEAD PEOPLE HANGING ON THE WALLS OF THE CRYPT. HOW COME NO PICS. MISS YOU LIKE CRAZY AND CAN'T WAIT TO SEE YOU. LOVE YOU
16th April 2006

Sciliy looks great.
So happy to finally hear from you. Loved the pictures, it looks so interesting and the views are outstanding. The family looks real cool and very Americanized. This had to be a very amazing adventure to see where the other half of your family comes from. These experiences will remain with you forever. By the way, you look great, Europe seems to be agreeing with you. We really enjoy these blogs. Stay well and enjoy.
23rd April 2006

Thanks for sharing your experiences in Sicily! I made a similar trip last May to visit the area where my grandfather's family immigrated from. I spent my first three days in Palermo before continuing on to the interior, and loved sitting on the steps of the Teatro Massimo and just people-watching.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb