Going to the cottage, an example of 'up north' Italian style


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont
October 5th 2014
Published: October 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

IMG_6440[1]IMG_6440[1]IMG_6440[1]

The church where host parents were married in Casale
Ciao and happy Sunday! I know you all are eagerly awaiting an updated blog post from me, and I owe you one! As mentioned in my post blog post, I spent the weekend with my host family at their cottage in Casale. Jennie joined us too because my host family is so fabulous and allowed me to invite her along.....as their favorite phrase goes 'it's no problem.' That's the most common response I get when asking anything here....that's a wonderful phrase for America to adopt from the Italians 😊

We left Torino Torino at 1030 on Saturday morning for the hour drive to Casale. Upon arriving in Casale we went for a stroll around the town. Casale is the town where my host mother Francessca grew up in, along with my host father Guiseppe. We saw the church in which they were married.....a beautiful church. Ofcourse all churches in Italy are beautiful because of the intracite artwork on the walls of ceilings and outside of the churches. In Italy it is also tough to find a public restroom when walking around so it may be necessary to buy a cafe at a shop, so than you are a customer using
IMG_6460[1]IMG_6460[1]IMG_6460[1]

Cottage view....
the bathroom. That would be one Italian custom I am not too fond of. One more is that water does not come complimentary at reastaurants, you must ask and pay a couple euros for a bottle of water.

The cottage my host family has is tucked away in the beautiful rolling hills of a town called Forneglio. They like to tell people that the cottage is in Casale because it's the largest town next to this Small town 😊 Being at the cottage reminds me of cabins up north in Minnesota, but Jennie and I were quickly reminded we were not up north in Minnesota when we were taking mental photographs, (real photogrpahs too but that doesn't do any justice for the beauty) of the rolling hills we were surrounded by. Also walking by Old castles....because castales are also everywhere in Italy. I do believe I mentioned in a past blog that our flat in Torino is located directly next to a castle. I am in amazement every time I step outside of the flat. Currently there is an art show in the plaza just outside the flat. There is always something going on it seems......incredible location and family.
IMG_6462[1]IMG_6462[1]IMG_6462[1]

Nature walk throgh the village
I cannot say it enough! On with the weekend adventures......

Jennie, Susanna and I went on a walk near the cottage in which I learned that Italian grave yards are very different that graveyards we are used to in the states. Instead of gravestones in the ground, there is a large wall with grave stones mounted in the wall. Its common that the gravestones are removed every 30 years to make room for new gravestones to go in. Ofcourse the gravestones/ashes will go to the families. See photo on this post for visual.

We were able to visit the synogauge in Casale which was as beautiful as all the churches here. We were in a Q&A session in the synogauge that was in Italian......it lasted nearly 40 minutes. When we got out, we were paired with an English speaking tour guide and she was shocked that we stayed in the Italian speaking session.....yes it was not holding my attention, but we did not want to be rude! I tried snapping some photos until I was yelled at in Italian. I gave the speaker a blank stare and she soon replied I was not fluent in Italian. I think
IMG_6466[1]IMG_6466[1]IMG_6466[1]

Graveyards in Italy
Jennie was slightly embarrassed by me 😊 The synogauge is beautiful and also has a museum inside of it. We were guided by an English speaker throug the museum. Think the Jewish population in the states is low? Think again. This synogauge has 7 members and needs to call in people from other cities to come to hold a service. There is not an official rabbi because it is so small. The tour guide could name all of the congregation members for us on her hand. Also did I mention in a past blog that the area where I live in Torino used to be a Jewish ghetto? Living on history..

Italian word I leanred this weekend.........ginocchio, it means knee. Just remember it rhymes with Pinocchio! At the families cottage there is a wonderful children's game to learn Italian body part names. Childrens game yes, but you must start with the basics when learning a language! As far as Italian words go, Jennie has got some words over me.

We enjoyed dinner at the cottage Saturday night and I finally got to try the Italian dish I learned about the first day I arrived in Italy, carne cruda
IMG_6470[1]IMG_6470[1]IMG_6470[1]

Carne cruda...raw cow meat for dinner.
which is essentially raw cow meat. It is not the raw beef we are used to, it comes from a speical part of the cow (and that part I am unsure). I was happy I tried it because I enjoyed it. Host mother put olive oil, garlic, lemon and salt in it. Parmessano cheese to top it off!

So here is the start of the 2nd week of school, and I am feeling good about it. Mostly feeling good about it because I know my Monday morning will begin with a cafe, because that's how all days start here. And I begin my day with eggs. Which is still a strange concept for my host family to grasp! Toast and cafe is standard for them.

I leave you with lots of love, and if I could send you carne cruda via web I would so you could taste it! because I am eating overloads Of pasta. Speaking of the word via, this has a different meaning in Italy....It most commonly means street. A Main Street here in Italy is Via Po. Po because it is near one of the rivers, River Po.

Amore 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

IMG_6487[1]IMG_6487[1]
IMG_6487[1]

Synogauge in Casale


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb