Lockers, prom and football games, the culture that is American high schools.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
October 9th 2014
Published: October 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

IMG_6496[1]IMG_6496[1]IMG_6496[1]

Strolling through Turin.
Ciao, I hope you are finding your week to be bellisimo (Italian for lovely/beautiful.)

Here I am close to the end of the second week teaching in Italy and I will share with you my most memorable lesson of the Week. Francessca asked me to teach about the American school system in comparison with the Italian school system. I taught the lesson to the 3rd year class only because they are able to comprehend most of what I am saying. By 3rd year class I mean 8th grade middle school. Middle school grades are referred to as 1st year (6th) 2nd year (7th) and 3rd year (8th), rather than being consecutive grades in American schools. The 'grades' start fresh when the Italain students start at a new school (elementary, middle and high school.)

I started out my American lesson by asking the students what they know about American schools. They seemed most excited about highschool prom, lockers and football games. Italian schools hold strong to academic, rsther than incorporating any social aspect. They were very interested to know about high school prom and high school football games because there is no Sport teams associated with the schools. There are
IMG_6510[1]IMG_6510[1]IMG_6510[1]

Empty classroom....where are the students!?
sports teams but it is separate from the school. ItalIan schools also do not have a school bus systems.....it is either walking of the city bus. Perhaps driving if you're parents are brave enough to drive in the city. I think I have mentioned in my previous blogs how persistant Italian drivers are. It is no stereotype. I have already experienced one Italian car ride where I was a tad bit out of my comfort zone.....as the most common Italian phrase goes....'it's no problem!'

I also explained to the Italian students that in American schools we switch classrooms throughout the school day. This was a strange idea to them since they stay in the same room all day long. I have been contemplating which school sysytem I prefer and I have not yet come to a decision. One part to the Italian system is being with the same class all day long--there is no lesson differentitaian for high students verses low students. Whereas in American middle schools, and elementary schools even, the classes are often separated by the students skill level. I do think the Italian school system has a strong high school system. Italian highschoolers being their 'career track' in their first year. There are different types of high schools based on the students strengths...math/scientific, language, etc.

A short entry, but always better short than none at all. I must go to my final lessons of the day now! I will leave you with a couple photos I've taken throughout the week... Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb