Ciao tutti!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
September 9th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everybody!

I guess I should start off with a little bit about my program. It's called USAC and is based out of Las Vegas. Where I study in Torino is a a branch of the Universita di Torino but it's part of the business school. I live 2 blocks away from school and all classes are in one building. The USAC program consists of a lot of americanos/as and some other countries as well. So far I have met a lot of people and have to frequently ask what their name is. There are about 70 people in our program, not including the Italians that will be in some of our classes.

I made the almost 10 hour flight (special thanks to O'HARE and their contribution of a 1 and 1/2 hour delay). We got into Torino early evening and everyone took a nap in the hotel for as long as we could before dinner. As a group we had our first authentic pizza and it was delicious! I met Caroline who is really cool, but unfortunately lives downtown which is a long bus ride away.

Next, we moved into our apartments. We are divided up into downtown, midtown, and near school. They all have their perks, such as pizzerias and bars(not the american kind but like quick food on the go). We are on the train and busline. Below us is a cafe and a tobacchi, which mainly sells cigarettes but also anything you could think of like bus passes, drinks, medicine and tons of other things. There are also many cafes with cute dogs lounging outside. I am already a regular at Cafe Mary which is on my way to school. Italians are very interested and curious with Americans. I talked to this man who said his cousin was from Boston and said massachusetts is nice and he got so excited I knew what that is and stood up with his arms over his head saying "massachusetts!!! yes!!"

My roomate is very nice and extremely reminiscent of my old roomate in Columbus, Laura. She is from Boise State which is all she talks about. She doesnt go out or really want to do much except go on myspace in the corner of our apartment that steals wifi from someone named Dink. We live on the top floor of the building. Across the street are a bunch of handsome italian men that walk around shirtless on their balcony everynight and stare out at our windows.

I had my first italian class over here and it was really great to have it be so much more practical than learning italian in Columbus, Ohio. I have my modern architechture class tomorrow and my art class next week.

Other than that, I got a cell phone. It was a huge hassel to set up because you have to buy the phone, go back and buy the sim card to get your phone number with your passport, and buy a ricarica which is basically minutes for your phone. THEN you have to wait a day for the sim card to be activated, so at this point in time I cant even give you my phone number. But I can give you my address:

Anna Kaufman
USAC - SAA
VIA VENTIMIGLIA 115
10126 TORINO, ITALIA.

If you are sending me a package of any size please make sure you don't say anything is expensive in it or I will have to pay the post office for customs fees.

I hope everyone is doing great and I would love to get letters or emails from you guys! It definitely makes it easier to stay in touch.

love,
anna

Advertisement



9th September 2008

alright
So glad you popped your head up, great about your apartment, only one roommate. as dad would say shoot your head off. love you!!!! xxxoooo peg
15th September 2008

Ike Fallout
Hi Sweets. We had a little fallout from the Ike Storm but all is ok. We are without electricity so it like camping only in very nice surroundings. Best part is we have running water!! But it is lights out pretty early. We are working out of the cooler for our food. They should have the power back up in the next few days. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb