Ancona - day 22


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Marche » Ancona
August 28th 2011
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.6158, 13.5189

DISASTER AVERTED

3 - the one where you don't forfeit your ticket
the boat from greece is due to arrive at 10:30 so you book your train ticket
to Florence departing Ancona at 12:30...pleeeeeeenty of time, right? except
the boat doesn't dock until 12:35!

at the train station I handed over my confirmation "Si, ciao", pointed to
the departure time then to my watch "No"...he hummphs, he looks at me a few
times...I smile, while holding my credit card expecting to pay for another
ticket...he prints a ticket departing at 14:10, gives it to me and tells me
to go to platform 4...that's it, no payment required

celebration time: across the road is a pizza place where I had my first
authentic italian pizza, Diabla (but it wasn't very spicy)

and now I'm travelling north through the italian countryside to Bologna
where I will change trains for Florence

DISASTER PENDING

A - I think my netbook is dying 😞 I thought it was just the battery cuz it
was working ok on mains power, but now I'm having issues with that
too...shut up, I don't want to talk about it

^testing email travelpod update #1


Advertisement



28th August 2011

Ciao bella! 'Ciao' is not something you say to strangers, so he must have really liked you...You batted your eyelashes at him admit it!Don't die netbook, don't die!
28th August 2011

ooo italy now! I'm way ahead of you - I had lasagna yesterday, pizza at 1am this morning, and now heartburn. :-p
28th August 2011

yay for the first italian pizza...okay now I'm hungry and I'll settle for pizza hut :3
28th August 2011

LOL - our ferry gets to Bari at 8.30am and our train to Rome leaves at 1pm - do you think 4.5hrs is enough of a buffer? LOLhave u set up some sort of auto update ? if so, u have to teach me when i get there
29th August 2011

lucky another ferry disaster was avertedand DONT DIE NETBOOK DONT DIE!!!
29th August 2011

i was told that the italy ferries are awesome compared to aegean ones...i remember you saying "they're just transport"...those backpackers really made it awful, though
29th August 2011

i really don't know...we'll probably get there early and have 5 hours to kill!
10th September 2011

Hi gorgeous! I'm back from France, catching up with everything (laundry, yikes :() and I'm trying to read and comment to your updates. I guess I'll found out more about the netbook in the next posts, right?
10th September 2011

i kept whispering sweet nothings to the netbook and it has continued to work...never did figure out what the problem was (maybe the power outlets in italy??)

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb