Busy, Busy


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy
June 21st 2007
PUBLISHED: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I haven't updated in a while, I've been very busy now that I am working and not just seeing the sights. I have new batteries for the camera. (I purchased them in Italian while I was by myself....very proud.) But apparently there are other issues. I can't get anything off the camera and on to my laptop. I'm e-mailing the experts at Canon, so hopefully they will have a fix soon.

Monday and Tuesday I had appointments to meet with education officials. Giovanna would accompany me to translate, and then take me home to eat lunch with her family, before taking me to the WTC office to work in the afternoon.

Everyone that I have met with has been a pleasure. They ask questions about Arkansas and the University and volunteer to show me around. Monday morning the professor had two of his assistants come in to see the powerpoint presentation when he saw that I had one prepared. They asked if Arkansas dialect was very similar to New York, which they had visited. I assured them Arkansas is quite different and gave them a "Hi Ya'll" as an example. They all laughed out loud, so I hope they understood and weren't laughing at me. (Marcus, I did not mention your "3rd world" analogy.)

Lunch at Giovanna's house is quite different than eating a sandwich at my desk. Her husband and son both come home and they prepare a three course meal (plus fruit and coffee at the end.) It usually takes at least a couple of hours. Her son speaks some English, but he has a little trouble understanding me at times since he is used to proper English. Her husband does not speak as much English, but he makes me feel very welcome and takes good care of me when I am there. I now feel like part of the family since my napkin is placed in the drawer with the family napkins to be reused at the next meal.

As we are walking to appointments Giovanna points out architectural features to me. We are taking occasional short detours to make sure I get to see some of the best sights in the center city. I can now distinguish between a couple of centuries of renaissance architecture.

Since traffic is limited in the center of the city, I walk a couple of blocks to meet my ride. When I meet Giac, I walk between the old church and new church. The "new" church was built in the 1700s! But it really is the newer of the two since the old church was already 300 years old when the "new" one was built.

Gotta run. It's definitely time for some strong Italian coffee.

Does anyone know what kind of birds make the annoying squeaky noises I hear each morning?

Ciao,
Julie



COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

22nd June 2007

Pictures
Hope you get the camera worked out. I am really looking forward to seeing the pictures. We miss you and can't wait till you get home. Take care!!!!
23rd June 2007

What is galleto?
What is galletto? We are looking forward to your bringing home some new recipes. Hope things are going well for you. We are home from our class. We got to go see Ethans ballgame. Well, at least the last part of it. As it turns out Hwy 71 B turns, but the way to the park did not. It took a while, but thanks to Don, Tim's friend, we mad it in time for a little Ethan action. He mad a hit and got on base, then helped make a couple of plays. Mostly he played in the dirt, but when it came time to play ball, he did well. Had better go. Am glad that you have people to look out for you while you are there. Love, Mom
24th June 2007

Gelatto
Gellato is Italian ice cream. It's somewhat like Andy's custard, but with less fat and cholesterol (supposedly) It's very good!!
27th June 2007

i refer to it as the twilite zone
It sounds charming. I am really happy to hear you have found a home away from home, while separeted from Tim and Ethan. I have been crossing my fingers everyday that your house is being shown to wonderful families in your absence. I hope you come home to find all the "loose ends" tied up.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb