Pumpkin Pasta


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunday I woke up to the sounds of a brass band playing in the street below. That was a bit of a surprise, but I've been awakened in worse ways. Definitely something that doesn't happen at home.

After breakfast I headed out the the Castello for some site seeing. It was very impressive. I thoroughly enjoyed the grounds and two museums on the property. One museum was nothing but armor and armaments. The other was all documents relating to Italy's independence. In these museums none of the displays were labeled in English, so my limited Italian prevented me from learning too much along the way. I enjoyed them anyway and the view overlooking Brescia justified the climb up the hill. Plus it was great fun to imagine what life must have been like during the dark ages when the castle walls and draw bridge were needed for protection. I think I was able to locate my hotel by following the sounds of the brass band coming up the mountain.

After the Castello, Giac and his family asked me to go to the mountain. I forget the name of it, but if you ever come to Brescia, you can't miss it. His children ate a picnic near one of the launching sites for the local hang gliding club while we watched several gliders take off. That was a first for me. We could also see para sailers in the air who had launched from another point on the mountain. Then we hiked back down part of the mountain and the adults ate lunch at a restaurant. For my pasta course I had spaghetti with mushrooms, which is apparently a local specialty. But I tasted the pumpkin stuffed pasta and decided it was one of my favorites so far. (A close second to gelatto.)

Sunday evening Giac had arranged dinner in a pizzeria with several college students and young professionals to discuss one of the projects I'm working on. They are a very inspiring bunch of young men and women who are going to make my job here much easier. Also, I have never seen a pizza menu with so many choices. But the biggest surprise was seeing "Americana" pizza on the menu. They don't prepare an imitation of bad american pizza, instead they top it with french fries! I reassured everyone there that we may not make pizza correctly in America, but we know better than to put french fries on it. This was the first time I've had a Coke since leaving home, but that's OK because most everyone at the table had a coke with pizza. It's just how young Italians eat pizza now.

More later,
Julie





Advertisement



19th June 2007

Americana Pizza
I can't believe pizza with french fries, ugh. Ethan really looks forward to his cards. He woke up early Sunday morning and ask for his card. I didn't know what he was talking about. He had fun riding his bike down at the camp. He said he had a good time, guess he did. Sounds like you are enjoying yourself, hope so. Catch you later.
20th June 2007

Have FUN !
Julie, Sounds like a great time! You are in our prayers! Be safe and enjoy the sights! Take care- Lori

Tot: 0.029s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb