Teatro all Scala


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
March 14th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is the most *famous* opera house in Milan and it's next to impossible to get tickets. I think it was definitely worth the price to bear witness to such a brilliantly done opera.

I saw a well known opera called Salome written by Richard Strauss. Salome is the daughter of King Herod and Queen Herodias and she falls in love with John the Baptist. It becomes clear to her and the audience that her love is unrequited. Soon thereafter, King Herod promises her anything in the kingdom or the world that she wants if only she will dance for him. She eventually agrees. When her dancing is done, she demands the head of John the Baptist on a silver platter, for only then can she kiss his lips and hold him close. (And by the way, she does this! The whole last scene of the opera is her fondling and kissing and lying with this head!)

After about 20 minutes had passes, I realized that in our box (you can see the picture) there were electric english translations. So I was able to enjoy aesthetically and musically what was going on, and follow the plot line... something I hadn't expected going in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Salome!Salome!
Salome!

hanging outside Teatro Alla Scala
view from the boxview from the box
view from the box

I was unfortunately sitting in the back of the box, which made seeing anything difficult unless I was standing with my face plastered on the side (ha, which is what I did!)


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 21; dbt: 0.013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb